Gratitude


It is Thanksgiving, so that means a time of reflection…

I’d like to start off with my family. Some times we take our loved ones for granted, though we don’t do so intentionally. We just assume they’ll always be there because, well–they’re your family. But in the past few months, I have been quite aware of the support my mom, dad, sister, and brother-in-law have provided for me. They have had my back, listened to my cries of frustration and fears, provided advice knowing I might or might not take it, and they’ve spent countless of hours and money to help put on the wedding I was hoping for. I can’t tell you how much I needed them to be there for me, and they were without question or hesitation. It is because of my parents’ love and support I have become the woman who I am because they never once questioned my efforts. You can’t top that.

I’m thankful for my wonderful husband. Things haven’t been easy for us lately, but he has kept his head high and trudged on, trying to do what’s best for both of us. He has been one of my biggest cheerleaders, but still does his best to keep me grounded and remind me of the our potential future. We’ve had a lot of fun in our almost 4 years of being together, and I can’t wait until to see what lies ahead of us.

I’m one of the lucky ones to still have a job and a great boss who inspires, encourages, and supports us. She has our backs. She definitely knows her stuff about the business of the web and it’s refreshing.

Without my animals, I wouldn’t stay sane. No matter how horrible the day has been, when I come home and I see the little faces of Dally and LaMesa (and occasionally a cat or two) in the front door, it warms my soul and I smile again. They are always so happy to see me and to spend time with me, they love their walks and love to be active, which encourages me to stay off the couch. Dally has been my rock in the 7 tumultuous years of moving around, etc. I’m still floating on cloud nine after earning our agility championship two weeks ago.

They’re always so excited to see mom when I come home, which makes my day better no matter what.

I’m grateful for the ability of being able to run and work-out. There are many that, for some reason or another, that can’t enjoy the freedom I feel when I’m out on a flat road, feet pounding the asphalt, lungs taking in the fresh air. I’m so happy I have found this wonderful retreat.

I’m sure there are many more things not listed that I am thankful for: our warm house, my horses at home (how I wish they were closer to me now), friends, etc. I have always been one to appreciate the things that I have, and I hope that I come off that way every day, not just on Thanksgiving Day.

Your turn: What are you most grateful for this Turkey Day?

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

Leave a comment