My Healthy Valentine: Why I Love Running


I follow a great group of runners on Twitter by following the hashtag #runchat. If you’re a runner and you’re on Twitter, I totally recommend putting that in your search bar. They have hour-long chat sessions every other Sunday and the next one is Feb. 26.

One #runchat challenge this week is to post the Top Ten Reasons Why You Love Running. I still consider myself a newbie when it comes to running, but I have grown to love it. So, here are my reasons for my love of running:

  1. It gives me time just to myself. I love running outside on a gorgeous day by myself because it’s just me and my music and I decide where I go, how far I go, and how hard I run.
  2. I know every step I take running I become healthier for it.
  3. It’s unexpected of me. I used to hate running…no seriously, even when I played volleyball in high school, I’d figure out a way to shorten my route on our three-mile conditioning runs in the summer. I even threw shot put and discus on the track team because the throwers didn’t run. Now, as an adult, I love to run.
  4. It’s always a challenge. I like challenges, and running has become the ultimate challenge for me because I have had a lot to overcome–asthma, injuries, etc.
  5. I feel victorious. To go along with #4, I love the feeling of accomplishment I get when I complete a run. When I run to the top of a long, tall hill, I actually applaud myself for making it up that hill and keep going. Little victories keep us going.
  6. The sense of excitement I feel preparing for a race. Now, so far I’ve only competed in 5Ks (my first half marathon is in April), but I love how I feel getting ready for a race and when you line up and wait for the shotgun to signal your start.
  7. It’s flexible. A running workout can last as long or as short as you want it, and you can just about do it anywhere. Some times I try to squeeze in a two mile run after work before I have to be elsewhere (agility classes, volleyball courts, etc.) and there’s nothing better than to push myself for two miles outside when I have a tight schedule–it’s relaxing to me!
  8. Gotta love the music. I love music, and this gives me a reason to put the earbuds in and just rock it out to my own collection without having to make others happy with what I’m listening to.
  9. The clothes. I’ve discovered a love of workout clothes thanks to running and the need to have lightweight, breathable, but fashionable clothing. Now if only I could find cute running shoes in my size and that fits my needs!
  10. I feel a little less guilty to have that handful of M&M’s in the office after a good four mile run before work. Though I’m still trying to figure out a balance eating plan that helps satisfy all the hunger pangs I tend have on my running days.

Do you love running? Or maybe there’s an activity you love. If so, please share your reasons for your love?

4 thoughts on “My Healthy Valentine: Why I Love Running

  1. Another good blog entry! Are you signed up for Run the Bluegrass?
    I am. I ran part of the course Sunday and thought I would die…had to walk a lot of it.
    I like running because it keeps me humble on days like that. Other times, I can feel pretty euphoric and that sure beats the high-cost of name brand anti-depressants, eh?
    Best of all, my top reason for running these days is that it wears out my crazy rat terrier Zoey when she accompanies me. She won’t let me loaf out there. Keep up these inspiring posts!

    • I’m signed up for the Kentucky Derby Half Marathon in April, as I will be in Reno competing at the AKC National Agility Championships that same weekend of the Run the Bluegrass. I’m currently on week 3 of my half training. Thanks, Leslie!!

  2. Great list. Thanks for participating, and for spreading the word about #runchat. Just to clarify, we’re the 2nd/4th Sundays of the month, so those months with 5 Sundays spread out the chats just a bit.

Leave a comment