Recipe: Easy Sweet Potatoes


One of our favorite and easy-to-do sides Matt and I like to have at dinner are microwaveable sweet potatoes. It’s so easy to pick up a few individually wrapped sweet potatoes at the grocery, then we pop them in for about 10 minutes as we prepare dinner–boom, they’re done! (We also use the individually wrapped baked potatoes, but that can be another post.)

One night I experimented with the sweet potatoes. Usually I just add some generic I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter (ICBINB) and a small sprinkle of brown sugar, but I wanted to try to cut back on the sugar and add some extra nutrients to this side. So I tried just using a small amount of the generic ICBINB, then sprinkled half a packet of Splenda, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg. This simple combination just took our sweet potatoes to another level, and I actually cleaned off my potato skin!

Real easy steps:

After cooking the sweet potato the recommended amount of time, I opened it up and prepared to dress it with the generic I Can't Believe It's Not Butter, half a Splenda packet (sorry it's hidden by the potato), and a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg.

Ta da:

The finished product: A healthy, but delicious sweet potato perfect for any meal!

Looks delicious, and easy too, right? (I apologize for the graininess of my photos–I’ve been using my iPhone for these food posts, and they’re not turning out as nicely as I had hoped. )

Do you know why cinnamon is a great tool to have for healthy eating? According to some sites, a few of the benefits include: a great source of fiber, iron, manganese, and calcium; has the ability to stop medication-resistant yeast infections; having 1/2 teaspoon a day can lower LDL cholesterol; and it can have a regulatory effect on blood sugar (perfect for those suffering from Type 2 diabetes).

So try to incorporate cinnamon more in your day: add it to your oatmeal, or even your cold cereal; sprinkle on apples or yogurt; the possibilities are endless!

What other simple recipes do you have that uses cinnamon?

Leave a Reply

