Red, White & Rose 5K – Another Stroller run


September means the start of Fall festivals and lots of activities. This past weekend my mom’s shop had a booth at a local winery’s Fall Harvest Festival, which was also the second stop on a tour of races at Central Indiana wineries called the Red, White, & Rose race series. You can choose between running a 5K or 10K, and at the finish is a glass of wine, medal (corresponding with how many races in the series you’ve run), and free wine!

I’m not much of a wine drinker, but sign me up! My sister wanted to do the 5K, her first in four years. I was trying to decide between running in the 10K or pushing Baby A&W in the stroller for the 5K (she doesn’t like to go much longer than 4 miles in the stroller). At the last minute I decided I’d stick with pushing A in the stroller for at least one more 5K race.

Baby A&W has her game face on for the race.

Baby A&W has her game face on for the race.

The race small, about 215 running in both the 5 and 10Ks, but it was nice. The route was run along country roads by the winery, with very little traffic, and held in the early evening. The weather was perfect, especially after the chilly, wet start to the day.

Start of the race was a little tight with the country road.

Start of the race was a little tight with the country road.

I started next to my sister, but then slowly pulled away. I wanted to just go at a comfortable pace, but I also wanted to push our speed a little bit more. Then I just made my way through the crowd.

When we turned west after a half mile, we hit a strong headwind and the sunset. Headwinds suck, but they suck more while pushing a stroller! Plus I wanted to try to get A out of the sun as quickly as possible, so I pushed the pace a little faster. Once we turned south, we were out of the headwind and I was in a groove.

Finishing strong, A does not look too thrilled in this photo, but it was time for her dinner (which we promptly fed her as soon as I got her back to my mom's booth).

Finishing strong, A does not look too thrilled in this photo, but it was time for her dinner (which we promptly fed her as soon as I got her back to my mom’s booth).

We ended up finishing 26th overall, with a time of 30:00 and fourth in my age group (30-39)…with a stroller! I had a lot of compliments as to how I ran the race while pushing A. I’m sure I would have done better without the stroller, but it was more fun to let A experience the countryside and another race with her momma.

I’m continuing my race training for a half marathon in early November, but the mileage build up is slow. I’m not sure how many more races I’ll do this year with the stroller, but I hope to try to continue running with A until it gets too cold. It’s hard to believe summer is over!

Baby's first race medal!

Baby’s first race medal!

Leave a Reply

