Link Love: Strong Women for Girl Power


This edition of Link Love is all about being a strong woman and having girl power. I want Baby A to be a strong woman and believe in girl power!

LinkLove

Why Your Daughter Should Do CrossFit (Tabata Times): Can I love this any more?? I would love for Baby A&W to follow in her mom’s footsteps of being active, as well as loving CrossFit. M and I are always talking about what sports she’ll play (she’s a natural swimmer, but I’d also love for her to play volleyball), and how she’ll be a horse girl. But I know she might not like all of that, and might surprise us. But I would love for her to workout with her mom, be healthy, and just happy with her body from the very beginning, and CrossFit helps all of that.

PSA: It’s Time to Stop Body Shaming Once and For All (Snacking in Sneakers): When Chrissy posted she wanted to write this post on the Sweat Pink Facebook page, I had to share my story about the doctor and my “abnormal athletic female body.” Her story, as well as the story of others in this post, really burns my biscuits that we are OK with this type of conversation. Again, this shines a light on how I want Baby A&W to grow up, and this isn’t one of those ways.

Loving Your Body is a Marathon, Not a Sprint (Lifting Revolution): Taylorr posted an eye-opening number, that 91% of women hate their bodies. Can you imagine Gisele hating her body? (OK, she might definitely be in the 9%) But, it reminds me that I’m not alone. I’m struggling with my body image because I still haven’t lost all the baby weight. I don’t fit in all of my pre-pregnancy clothes very well (just because it zips doesn’t mean it fits), so it’s frustrating to get dressed in the morning. But then I stop myself…I don’t want Baby A&W to be in that 91%. I don’t want her to hear me talk about negatively about my body, which will, in turn, make her feel like it’s alright to do the same about herself. It’s time we flip the stats around!

Leave a Reply

