Colts 5K — First Race with a Stroller


Competing in the Colts 5K was a fun time. I only had a little bit of nerves because of my running partner–it was her first race so I wasn’t sure how she’d handle it. Would she be alright with the crowds? Would I push her too fast? Would she have a blowout in her diaper mid-race?

Hold up…blowout in her diaper? Yep, my running partner was my baby girl! We’ve been working for this race, slowly adding miles in the stroller to get her accustomed to the time spent and me accustomed to the extra weight and resistance that comes with pushing something up and down hills.

Race day dawned bright and early…about 30 minutes earlier than planned (apparently Baby A&W didn’t know I had set my alarm). That was OK, I got up and dressed quickly (I laid out my race outfit the night before, as well as hers), then got A up. I changed her diaper and got her dressed in her Colts onesie and shorts, plus a fresh diaper, and headed down for our pre-race meal–a piece of whole wheat toast with peanut butter for me, and a bottle of formula and bowl of oatmeal for her.

The stroller was already packed in the car, and so was her diaper bag. For the race, I didn’t want to be weighed down by my giant diaper bag, so I threw my Brica goPad Diaper Changer, which was great because it held 3 diapers, plus a small pack of wipes, and some small trash bags to dispose of the dirty diapers. It worked great! We ended up having to change A’s diaper after the race…in the end zone of the Colts’ stadium (Lucas Oil Stadium). (Hey, how many babies can say that??)

wpid-20150903_215438.png

The race started a little after 8. I lined up with a friend in the 10 minute pace, towards the back of that pack. I was going to do my best to not the stroller wheel into anyone, but I couldn’t guarantee it. Well, I only hit three people, and it was only minor, so I was proud of myself for that!

I had to remind myself to be patient with my weaving and moving around if we needed to pass people. Running with a stroller isn’t as flexible as running alone. I made sure to give us a wider berth in our route, and didn’t cut corners tightly. There were a few inconsiderate runners–one guy dashed across our running path, cutting it so close he almost hit my front tire.

Overall, the course was stroller-friendly, especially runner friendly. We started in front of the stadium, then ran the last tenth of a mile into and through the stadium. That part was really cool–we actually ran through the tunnel that the Indianapolis Colts run through when they come onto the field on game day. Then the finish line was the 50 yard line. The energy was awesome, and it was fun seeing the Colts cheerleaders lining up the last part of the race.

wpid-20150906_214903.png

We waited around and took photos while waiting for M and my brother-in-law, who were walking the race. Then we had to hurry on out because I needed to be on the road to Lexington for a friend’s baby shower.

But not before A met Blue, the Indianapolis Colts mascot… (she wasn’t sure about his furry arms and kept trying to pluck them LOL)

wpid-20150822_093252.jpg

I’m already looking forward to another fun race to do with the stroller. I hope to make running something Baby A&W can do together for a long time. While I don’t know if I see myself racing further than a 5K with a stroller (maybe a 10K, if I can build up her patience), they’re more fun that way.

I wasn’t able to get my race photo at this time, but once I do, I’ll post it–I’m pretty proud of it! 🙂

Your turn: Have you, or would you, run a race pushing a stroller?

2 thoughts on “Colts 5K — First Race with a Stroller

Leave a Reply

