One Month Ago Life Changed–Dear Aubrey


It’s hard to believe that it’s been one month since Aubrey joined this world and changed my life forever. It feels like it’s been longer than a month, but then again, it’s like “It’s already been a month??”

1 Month Old!

1 Month Old!

One of my favorite bloggers, Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean, recently had a baby as well, and I love what she does to commemorate each passing month of Chase’s life, so I thought I’d steal her idea (I hope you don’t mind, Lindsay!). Every month she writes a letter to Chase about his month of growth, which I love. I’d hope that one day Aubrey can read these letters…

Dear Aubrey,

I can’t believe it’s already been one month since you joined me and Daddy’s world. All the preparations we did leading up to your arrival didn’t prepare me for the roller coaster ride that is new motherhood.

You’ve already proven you’re like your mother in the fact that you’ll do what you want when you want. Right now, it’s mostly been sleeping–you’ve slept away most of your first month on this Earth. If only I could say the same for myself. I only hope you’re able to sleep well the rest of your life!

Your momma conquered changing diapers pretty quickly, though there are times that I forget to put a diaper under you as soon as I remove the dirty one…and then we have to wash the changing pad. Oops. We’ve had a few blowouts, but nothing horrible.

We’ve had our struggles with your weight, and with momma trying to breastfeed you. But I think we’re starting to get things figured out. After dropping a full pound, you’re now up to 7 pounds 6 ounces! At your last doctor’s appointment, you were 20.5″ long, but I think you’ve grown at least an inch since, because your legs are too long for Newborn-sized sleepers.

Lots of feedings!

Lots of feedings!

My saying for the first month has been: “First time mom + first time baby = not a good combo”. Thankfully you’ve been pretty forgiving. I just hope you’re this forgiving later in life…

We’ve spent most of your first month living with Grammie and Granpie in Indiana–Daddy had to start his new job two weeks after you were born in Indianapolis, so that I had some help, we temporarily moved up to the family farm with your puppy sisters. I think you’ve enjoyed your stay–you get spoiled by not only Grammie and Granpie, but also your Aunt Erin and Uncle Jerry. Win-win.

We’re in this together for a lifetime, and while the future is still scary for me to fathom, I’m happy I have you as my little partner in crime.

wpid-20150222_113712.jpg

One thought on “One Month Ago Life Changed–Dear Aubrey

Leave a Reply

