B-Day is Coming–38 Weeks & Counting


It’s so hard to believe that we’re on 38 weeks of pregnancy and that Baby A&W could come at any moment. And let me tell you…I am not ready.

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, and for that I apologize. Life has gotten crazy busy, as any mom-to-be can probably attest to. The last few weeks I’ve been busy trying to finish up tasks at work and training coworkers to take over my duties while I’m gone, finishing up the multitude of freelance writing assignments that piled up on me from editors hoping I can get things to them before the baby’s arrival, and dealing with major changes in our family.

Working Out
I am still working out just about everyday. I wake up at 6 am every weekday morning and hit Man O’War CrossFit for my daily weight training. I’ve backed off the weight more, and definitely the intensity, but just to still walk into the box and try my best to be normal. My coach and the rest of the guys I work out with always make me laugh, even when they say it feels like I’ve been pregnant for a year (trust me, I feel the same way). There are more things that I can’t do now (i.e., jump rope, squat below parallel), but I try to not let that stop or discourage me.

There are times that I just don’t feel like going to the box, but I know that I’m going to miss it when the baby comes those first weeks, so I still go. When I have those days, I just tell Taylor “I’m preggo WODding it” which means I’ll do my own thing (like one day I just foam rolled and stretched–which is exactly what I needed that day). He’s OK with that and just keeps an eye on my while working with the rest.

Writing & Work
A few months ago I warned all of my editors about when the baby was coming and requested my assignments as early as possible so I could work ahead and get the assignments into them before Baby A&W arrives. I ended up having more than 15 assignments due by the end of this month. When you’re also working full-time, that’s a lot on a normal (read: non-pregnant) person.

I’ve also gotten additional (last minute) assignments due for the month of February, which I’m currently working on finishing this weekend…I hope.

As far as my full-time job, I’ve been doing my best to train co-workers different aspects of my job so they can take care of anything that pops up during my 6 week maternity leave.

Preparing Home for Baby
With all of this going on, it’s hard to think that I would have the time to get our home ready for the baby. Well, thankfully my mother came down to help me. She’s been instrumental in helping to organize all of the baby stuff from my showers, wash all of the baby clothes, and make sure I have enough receiving blankets and clothing to fit the baby for the next 6 months. We’ve successfully changed the office into a nursery where my dad put together our crib and I put together Baby A&W’s swing and some organization shelves.

We went from having an exclusive rodeo themed nursery to a farm/dog (mostly Corgi) themed nursery. My dog friends gave me some great items like a dog musical mobile that was just too perfect. I also had a wall hanging quilt with Corgis playing in front of a barn that a friend gave me years ago that I just didn’t know what to do with–well now it’s hanging on the wall above the crib.

I have a good selection of diapers (size newborn and 1s) as well as plenty of wipes (seriously…plenty). Lots of Dr. Brown’s bottles (I did register for other brands, but all of my friends bought me Dr. Brown’s) and pacifiers (even though I don’t really know if I want Baby A&W to use pacifiers). And lots of baby clothes of all sizes/ages. My parents even brought down an antique cradle for us to have in our bedroom those first couple of months.

We’re just hoping that having the dogs be a part of all of the preparation stuff helps them in the transition of the baby when the time comes. I’ve been doing lots of reading on how to intro duct dogs/pets to the new baby, and I have to say that’s one of my biggest stressors right now.

Changing Life
And then there’s a big wrench in everything… Around Christmas time, M applied and interviewed for a new job…and received a job offer at the end of the year. Great news, right?? Of course. Unfortunately, it also means a huge change in address for us. The job is in Indiana, which means we’ll be moving back there. Since mid-January, he’s been in Indiana training for his new job.

During the week he’s been staying with my dad and going to training, then he comes down to Lexington to spend the weekend with me. His new company will give him his two weeks paid vacation when the baby arrives (which he normally wouldn’t receive until after 6 months in) and they told him that as soon as I call him saying I’m in labor, he is just to get in the car and drive, and call them from the road. They understand the pressures he’s under with a pregnant wife and a baby coming soon. So far they seem like they’re a great company, and for that I’m thankful.

I’ll be staying down in Kentucky until it’s the right time for me and Baby A&W to move. I’m hoping I’ll have found a job by then because we’ll still need the dual income, as well as my freelancing. We will be closer to my family, which will be helpful when it comes to raising our child, but I am sad to be leaving a place that has a special place in my heart. But I know it’s for the best, and sometimes we have to just go with the change and see where it leads us.

So….yeah…that’s been my life up to now! Haha This post has gone very long and for that I apologize. I’ll do my best to keep you up-to-date as time nears for Baby A&W’s arrival. For now, wish me luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

