Good Reads: Running + CrossFit, Marathons While Pregnant, Body After Baby


It’s been a while since I’ve shared some of my favorite reads online lately! These selections start off normal, for what I’ve done in the past, then we go into some confidence-building posts that I so desperately need right now as a mom-to-be with an ever-growing belly. I hope you read these selections and really consider everything, whether or not you’re a mother, mother-to-be, or even friends with one of the two. So here we go!

LinkLove

Running for Grinders: A Love/Hate Relationship (The Box): I’m one the the (very few) runners at Man O’War CrossFit. When there’s running in the WOD, everyone tends to look at me for the excitement. I’ve trained for two half marathons with CrossFit (run four, total), and I have to say I don’t ever mind any length of running in a WOD…as long as my legs aren’t wrecked beforehand. I think running is a very important part of anyone’s fitness, so I’m happy to see it break up a set. What do you think about running during WODs?

Marathons & Pregnancy: Should Your Run One? (Zelle): Of course this one I can closely relate to, considering I’ve run two half marathons while pregnant this year (one unknowingly 6 weeks pregnant, the other 22 weeks along). I’m planning a post as to why I ran a half marathon while pregnant, so I’ll save my comments for then. But I’d like to hear what you have to say: How do you feel about distance running races while pregnant?

Body After Baby: An Honest Post (Say What You Need to Say): I am so thankful to Lauren for posting this (well, thanks to Claire for bringing it to my attention first of all). Especially this morning, getting dressed has been a huge confidence blow for me. I know I’ve never had the flat abs or skinny body like some, but it’s hard to be proud of the growing belly and inability to fit in normal clothes…yes, I know I should be proud of growing a human, but it’s still hard on my psyche, and to know that someone else struggled with that and is struggling to get back to normal after baby, makes me feel like I’m OK. Kudos to her!

The One About the Baby Weight (Meals & Moves): This is the post that Lauren was inspired by, so I had to go ahead and read it and be inspired as well. Janeetha is straight and to the point. I’m thankful for her posting this and being completely honest as well. PREACH IT, GIRL!

Your turn: Share a favorite read/link from the past few weeks below!

Leave a Reply

