Running While Pregnant Product Review: Mizuno Wave 18s


Just a day before I was set to run the Iron Horse Half Marathon in October, I was contacted via Mizuno on Twitter about trying their new Wave Rider 18 running shoes. At first I was really excited–I love trying new products! But then I was worried because I’ve been running in Saucony shoes for the past few years and love them. Plus, with my pregnancy, my feet are always changing, so I wasn’t sure I could give an accurate review.

But let me tell you, when I got that box in the mail and opened up to see those pretty teal, black, and white shoes, all worries went out the window.

What (runner) girl can turn down a new pair of shoes??

What (runner) girl can turn down a new pair of shoes??

I still ran my half marathon in my Saucony shoes, and waited a week to get back into running after the race (recovery, time, etc.), but I couldn’t wait to slip these on. I walked around the house in them a little, just to make sure the size was correct–I wear a 10 in my Sauconys, and luckily the 10s in Mizuno fit just fine.

I’ve finally been able to fit in a couple of 2.5 mile runs around the neighborhood wearing my Mizuno Wave 18s. The first run, the shoes felt great! I really couldn’t notice a difference between them or my Sauconys. The only thing I noticed was that my footsteps sounded louder, if that makes any sense. It’s like I was landing harder down on the ball of my foot…but it didn’t bother me.

First run back from the half marathon and first run in my Mizuno Wave Rider 18s!

First run back from the half marathon and first run in my Mizuno Wave Rider 18s!

Last week I wore them for another 2.5 mile run. Again, comfortable, the only thing i noticed was that I felt the stitching from the logo cradling my foot. This could have been because maybe my feet were a little more swollen, or I was tuning into the shoes a little more. I didn’t see any rubbing when I got home, though, so it doesn’t seem like a big deal.

My heel was sore the day after, though. I’ve been battling something with my left heel after my runs, where it’s like my tendons/ligaments are really tight and take a while to allow my foot to totally flex and allow me to walk normal. I get up from sitting and I walk stiff for a little bit because of this, and it’s rather painful. I realized that I’ve been running with PowerStep insoles in my Saucony shoes, but I have not tried them in my Mizunos, so I might see if that helps the next time I go for a run.

I’m thankful to Mizuno for allowing me the opportunity to try these wonderful shoes. I’m excited to have them in my rotation for runs, even though I’m cutting back on my running as my pregnancy is progressing and winter comes.

Your turn: What’s your favorite running shoe?

3 thoughts on “Running While Pregnant Product Review: Mizuno Wave 18s

  1. I bought Sauconys for the first time last year when I was looking for shoes that would be good for both walking and jogging. I’ve been really happy with them. I wear out the heels on my shoes very quickly so I’m planning on purchasing another pair after Christmas so I can alternate and extend the usage of both pairs.

Leave a Reply

