Catching Up: Already at 25 Weeks Pregnant!?


I have totally been slacking on my blogging. Not just on here, but on my dog agility blog and on my freelancing business’s website. I don’t know what it’s been–I think I’m just so tired of being on the computer all day at work that I don’t want to do any more work when I get home. Plus, I have the article assignments that are always due, and when I get some gumption, I’m working on our baby registries online (which may or may not be easier than doing it at home).

So let’s see…where did I leave you last? Oh, yeah…I was preparing to run in the Iron Horse Half Marathon. Well, I did it…13.1 miles while 22 weeks pregnant. I’m trying to get at least one of the race photos for use in the wrap-up post, which is why you haven’t heard anything about it yet. Thank you for all of the positive affirmations when I posted my trepidations. I greatly appreciated them!

Since my last post, at 21 weeks, life has slowed down for me…for the most part. October was busy with weekends packed with different events with the dogs and for work. Last week I made a solo trip up to Columbus, Ohio, to cover the All American Quarter Horse Congress for a magazine. This event is huge–it’s the largest, single-breed horse show in the world, lasts more than three weeks, and has some of the best horse shopping you could ever hope for. It made me miss my horse showing days and my horse show buddies. It was a long day, but still fun. Lots of great horses, yummy food, and fun shopping.

1414962101751

We’ve had our 25 week doctor’s appointment, and things are going well. Baby A&W is actually measuring 26.5 weeks, and according to the doctor’s notes, I’ve only gained 14 pounds. I took some time off from running due to recovery and schedule, but I’m slowly starting to get back into it with shorter runs after work (2.5-3.5 miles), which are much more manageable. Last week M even rode his bike along while I ran, which I greatly appreciated because I felt like it motivated me to keep going. If I can get him to continue doing that with me one or two nights a week after work, it’d be so awesome.

I’m still hitting Man O’War CrossFit 4-5 days a week, and the guys I workout with are wonderful and so motivating. Our coach, Taylor, is careful to make sure I’m not feeling uncomfortable with any movement or workout, and has commented that my activity outside of the box is helping me continue to be active, flexible, and strong in the box and in pregnancy.

I’m still going to the chiropractor. The bulging disc in my lower back has not calmed down. My chiropractor is hoping that now that I’m done with distance running (until after Baby A&W’s arrival), this will help my disc relax and we can get a handle on things. I feel it when I do lunges and definitely have troubles getting up when I’m on my back.

We also started our birthing classes at the hospital we will be going to. The classes are for three hours every week for four weeks. So far we’ve watched a video on the stages of labor (including showing actual births), learned positions to help with pain during labor, and just gone through a lot of paperwork.

Besides that, it’s been pretty uneventful, which I guess is why I haven’t been writing much. But I’m hoping to get back into the swing because there is a lot to talk about, including my free pair of Wave 18s Mizuno sent me to review–yay new running shoes!!

Your turn: What’s one new thing you’ve learned in the last week or two? 

4 thoughts on “Catching Up: Already at 25 Weeks Pregnant!?

  1. Coming from another pregnant lady, that cinnamon bun sure does look delicious! 🙂 Hahah! Glad to hear your little one is doing well. Have you felt that your pregnancy has been flying by as well?

    • OMG It was soooo good! Those cinnamon buns are an institution at the Quarter Horse Congress. You have to stop by the Sweet Shop any time you’re there. I didn’t feel guilty one bit about eating the whole thing by myself! 😉

    • And, yes, I keep being surprised that the pregnancy is going as quickly as it is. In fact my husband just texted me that we’re now in the double digits (he has a countdown on his phone). Because of my lack of symptoms, I tend to forget I’m even pregnant at times (until I look at my growing belly, that is).

  2. When I was reporting, it was so hard to sit down and blog. I spent my entire day writing, reading and using my creativity that when I got home, I really just wanted to not think. I wanted to just zone out. So, in that respect, I totally understand where you’re coming from. It’s better now that I’m doing some really easy writing that doesn’t take much brain power. It leaves me with some creativity.

Leave a Reply

