Running While Pregnant + FlipBelt Review & Discount


By now you know that I’ve been continuing to workout, almost like normal, throughout my pregnancy, and that I plan to continue to do so until I absolutely cannot. That includes running. Back in April I had signed up for the Iron Horse Half Marathon, a race that takes place just 20 minutes from my home that I’ve been wanting to participate in since I started running half marathons. They only allow 1,600 registrants, so you have to register early. Then when I found out I was pregnant, I also found out you couldn’t sell your bib. Doing the math, I’ll be 21-22 weeks pregnant the day of the race (Oct. 12), and my running group was very supportive of helping me continue to train and run in the race. (Some runners have done the same race at 4, 5, and 6 months pregnant.)

So every weekend that I’ve been home, I’ve joined my running group for long training runs. I’ve knocked back my pace from the usual 9:30 to 10:30-11, and have learned to swallow my pride so I am okay with walking when I need to walk. This weekend I tackled nine miles on the Iron Horse course, and while the last few were harder than the first six, I still finished in 1:41:29. According to RunKeeper, my average pace was 11:13, so not too bad. I initially started doing the run 2 minutes, walk 1 minute interval most of the group was doing for the first mile, but running like that seems to make my legs tighter, so I decided I’d just run on my own, watching my pace on my Garmin, and try to see if I could run a certain distance without walking. I made it 3.5 miles before I walked at the turn-around, mostly to grab some Gu Chomps and some water. All in all, it was a decent run.

This was my first run rocking my new FlipBelt. Yep, that’s right!! As part of my Sweat Pink Ambassadorship, FlipBelt sent me a free belt to try and review. At first I was concerned about having to order a specific size because things don’t fit me like they use to right now, and my belly will only continue to grow as the pregnancy went along, but after I measured around where I usually wear my running belt, I went with the large. large fits comfortably, and leaves plenty of room for growth. I’ll keep you update on how it feels as my belly continues to grow, but right now it’s so comfy!

You can select any color FlipBelt, but I went with the classic carbon...blends well with my running clothes!

You can select any color FlipBelt, but I went with the classic carbon…blends well with my running clothes!

I had a few friends from the running group say they didn’t even notice I was wearing a running belt and they loved how sleek it looked, compared to the “pouch” you get with other running belts. Nothing jiggled, nothing moved. I chose to wear it with the slits out, so I could access my Chomps and my phone during my run. The one complaint I had about the FlipBelt was with my Samsung S4 in it’s (sleeker than most) case, it was hard to get in and out while I was running. (I’d try to get it out to turn on Pandora while I was running, then at one point the change stations when I couldn’t take any more slow songs.) Other than that, nothing bounced, and I’d forget I was wearing it until I got home to strip out of my clothes to shower.

I’ve worn it to walk my dogs, and I wore it when we went hiking on Sunday. I love the Carbon color. I also got the recommended (and free) waterproof plastic bag to place my phone in if I worry about it getting wet from sweating through the fabric or rainy runs, but I haven’t used that yet.

Can you see my running belt? (Please disregard the growing preggo belly...) I love how sleek the FlipBelt fits. The girls give it four paws up!

Can you see my running belt? (Please disregard the growing preggo belly…) I love how sleek the FlipBelt fits. The girls give it four paws up!

Think you might be interested in trying the FlipBelt? Well, you’re in luck, because they’ve agreed to let my readers use a discount code for 10% off until September 7! Simply go to the FlipBelt website, select your purchases, order it here, enter discount code sweat33 for 10% off your entire order.

This is great for those walking their dogs, working out in gym, running, biking, or even running errands. If you’ve been thinking about trying a running belt for any reason, using this discount code is a big help!

Share the news–Click to Tweet: Tweet: Run, play, explore with #FlipBelt! Use the code sweat33 for 10% OFF your entire purchase! http://ctt.ec/9fPaF+ @flipbelt @fitapproach

**Disclaimer: I received this product free of charge as part of my Sweat Pink Ambassadorship and was not compensated for my time. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Your turn: What running products have you tried and liked?

4 thoughts on “Running While Pregnant + FlipBelt Review & Discount

  1. It’s so great that you are able to continue running. It will be really cool to tell your child that they ran their first half marathon before they were born!

    • Haha Yep. I just hope I can keep up the running as the race gets closer, then hopefully continue running until close to my due date. Time will tell!

Leave a Reply

