Recipe: Easy Mexican Slow Cooker Soup


For some reason I never think of using my slow cooker during the summer. I think when it comes to summertime cooking, we focus mostly on grilling. As much as I love grilling, with the way our schedules have been, it hasn’t been the most convenient to grill our meals. Most of the time M’s not home for dinner, and lately I haven’t been feeling up to cooking a full meal for just myself.

The other weekend I was trying to think of what I could make that would be multiple meals for M and I to grab and take to work for lunch/dinner. That’s when I pulled out the slow cooker from storage and went to work. What I came up with was a delicious Mexican soup jam-packed with veggies and protein.

Easy Slow Cooker Soup

wpid-img_20140811_125202.jpg

3 thawed boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 cans diced tomatoes with chili peppers
1 can reduced sodium black beans (drained and rinsed)
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
1 package frozen corn
Chicken broth (I didn’t measure, I just poured until most of the ingredients were covered)
Chopped onion, onion powder, cumin, chili powder, black better to taste

  1. Spray the inside of your slow cooker with cooking spray to prevent sticking and making cleaning easier
  2. Place 3 thawed boneless, skinless chicken breasts into the slow cooker.
  3. Dump the diced tomatoes, black beans, green bell pepper, and frozen corn on top of the chicken. Pour the chicken broth until most ingredients are covered (maybe 2 cups). Season as needed.
  4. Cook on high for 4-5 hours. After four hours, remove the chicken breasts and shred with forks, then place back in the slow cooker, stir to mix seasoning, veggies, and chicken.
  5. Enjoy!

I was able to ladle the soup into 6 different single serve, reusable containers to make it easy for us to grab and go. I also made some corn muffins to eat alongside and added a little bit of shredded cheese on top when I had some at home. It’s lighter than a chili, so just about perfect for a sumer soup.

Your turn: What’s your favorite summertime slow cooker recipe?

Leave a Reply

