Working Out While Pregnant? No Brainer!


Ever since people have found out that I’m pregnant, the number one question I get (besides, “How do you feel?”) has been “Are you going to cutback on working out like you have been?”

Uhhh…NO.

It would be insane for me to do so!

why workout

At our first ultrasound appointment, meeting with our nurse, she went through the dos and don’ts of pregnancy, with one of them being to not life more than 25 pounds. Excuse me? I immediately raised my hand to stop her and said, “That’s going to be a problem…” and went on to explain my physical activities on a weekly basis: CrossFit 3-4 days a week, running 1-2 days a week, sand volleyball 2 nights a week, dog agility, lots of dog walks, and hiking. She looked at me with an open mouth and said I was probably the most physically active patient they’d ever had. I then said, “I just clean and jerked 80 pounds yesterday…and that was cutting back on my weight.”

For me, not lifting, not running, not working out is NOT an option. And it shouldn’t be for any woman, pregnant or not.

I got the OK from my OB to continue with the CrossFit and running, with the understanding that I was listening to my body, slowing my pace, and cutting back on my weights. I’ve been doing a lot of research on running and CrossFitting while pregnant, and have to thank Tina and Lindsay for their encouragement for working out while pregnant. They are inspirations! My running group knows I’m pregnant, and quite a few ladies told me they ran the same half marathon I’m training for 2, 4, 5, and even 6 months pregnant.

Some people are surprised that I’m still going to Man O’War CrossFit as often as I am and lifting. If I didn’t workout like I have been, I’d go nuts. Trust me–you wouldn’t want to be around me if I haven’t been active in more than a day.

I saw this video on Facebook the other day, and it made me want to stand up and shout, “Yes!”

My feelings on the whole “Do not lift more than 25 pounds during pregnancy” is that this advice is antiquated, and if there are women out there who regularly workout, but are afraid to go against the grain and not follow the pregnancy books word for word, I’m afraid they’re doing themselves, and their baby, a disservice.

One of the sites I’ve discovered for moms-to-be doing CrossFit is CrossFit Mom. I totally recommend checking this site out if you CrossFit (or even want to workout, in general) while pregnant.

This week I’ve played in one sand volleyball game (don’t worry, the season is done for one team, and I’m finishing up with this team, and I’ll be off the courts until next Spring…), hit up the box twice, and walked the dogs. We’ve been working on checking our 1-rep maxes and hitting new PRs this week, but Taylor has been good about keeping me in check. For instance, when my old back squat PR of 145 felt real easy, I started thinking “Should I go for it?” Taylor saw me thinking and said, “I see you thinking…if you’re thinking, then no. Do not push it.” So, I didn’t. When we went to run our 1 mile for time, I told myself I would go for whatever I felt comfortable, and to keep in check my breathing and just go with it. When I finished that mile in 8:01, I said, “Oops.” Because that was my usual, pre-pregnancy 1 mile PR…I didn’t mean to go that fast, but I was comfortable and felt fine!

So, yes, I’m going to continue working out and continue to be active. Will I push myself as hard as I did pre-pregnancy? No. I’m learning my limits and learning to take things easy. I don’t want to endanger my baby in any way, but I also want us both to be healthy (and sane).

Leave a Reply

