Countdown to 13.1 No. 3 & Uncertainty


My third half marathon is two days away, and I think I’m more nervous about this race than I was even for my very first half marathon!

I know I went into this half marathon with the full intention of not running as much and not doing as much running training as I have in the past–I wanted to try to avoid the injuries that I’ve had occur from overtraining, so I decided to run once or twice a week with lots of cross-training with Man O’War CrossFit. But then my schedule went haywire, I got really sick and exhausted, and my training went down the tubes. Because of that, I don’t feel quite as prepared as I have in the past.

In previous attempts at the half marathon, I’ve trained up to 12 and 13 miles before. The farthest I’ve run for this race was 10 miles. Now I know a few friends who only run up to 10 miles before hitting 13.1, but I feel like I have to run close to the full length for my mental strength.

I know I can do 13.1–I’ve done it on a flat course and a very extremely hilly course. I’ve been warned the Bourbon Derby is constant rolling hills–different from the Run the Bluegrass where it has extreme hills and some flat parts.

I ran six miles last week before I headed out of town for an agility trial in Indy. I met up with my running group before work and did the maximum that I had time for. I figured six miles was better than none…right?

Fast 10K for one last tough run before the Bourbon Derby!

Fast 10K for one last tough run before the Bourbon Derby!

This week I’ve taken it easy. At MOWCF we worked on back squats and cleans on Monday, which caused my legs to be really sore. I was so tired from not sleeping much, so I slept in on Tuesday and took the day off (minus walking 1.5 miles at lunch with a friend and 1 mile with the pups and M after work). Wednesday I did some core work at MOWCF and changed up the METCON from legs to upper body:

21-15-9
Calorie row
Ring dips

Rest 2 minutes

15-10-5
Ring rows
Handstand push-ups (modified on the box)

I also did my very first headstand! OK, so part of the warm-up METCON was 20 second handstand holds, but I’ve never, ever, done a head/handstand, so I’m taking it slowly (I have this fear of falling on my head and crushing my neck…don’t ask, my mother was a head injury nurse). I was pretty proud of myself and my headstand!

Today will consist of an easy 3 mile run to shake out the legs and pup walk, plus I’ll be picking up my race packet. Friday I’ll walk the dogs, roll-out and stretch, and just relax to prepare for the early morning wake-up call. So far the weather looks much better than I anticipated–partly cloudy with a high of 78!

Your turn: Any words of wisdom/encouragement greatly accepted!!! 

Leave a Reply

