I’ve Been MIA: Scenes from a Busy Life


So you might have noticed that I’ve been a bit MIA lately. The thing is, I’ve been extremely busy. This past weekend was the Rolex Kentucky Three-Day Event, a huge international eventing competition held at the Kentucky Horse Park here in Lexington. I was lucky (or some said “unlucky”) to get to do some contract work for Bit Of Britain, a well-respected tack store out of Pennsylvania. Because of that, I was working Tuesday-Sunday.

On top of that, though, I was covering the Kentucky Reining Cup for the EquineChronicle.com, so my evenings were spent at the Alltech Arena. That meant extremely long days…75+ hours in 6 days.

And on top of that, I worked my usual job, and started the reffing season at Marikka’s.

A lot has happened in the past couple of weeks, and I have some discussion to share with you, but until then, I wanted to share some scenes from my phone of my time at Rolex.

Such a beautiful horse--Yellow Jersey helps Mandy McCutcheon earn a spot on Team USA for the 2014 World Equestrian Games, as well as being the first woman to earn the title Two Million Dollar Rider.

Such a beautiful horse–Yellow Jersey helps Mandy McCutcheon earn a spot on Team USA for the 2014 World Equestrian Games, as well as being the first woman to earn the title Two Million Dollar Rider.

Multiple Gold Medalist, Three Million Dollar Rider Shawn Flarida will teach Norman a thing or two about sliding stops.

Multiple Gold Medalist, Three Million Dollar Rider Shawn Flarida will teach Norman a thing or two about sliding stops.

Norman visits the horseshoe globe at the Kentucky Horse Park.

Norman visits the horseshoe globe at the Kentucky Horse Park.

Norman helped me sell Ariat merchandise at the Bit of Britain booth.

Norman helped me sell Ariat merchandise at the Bit of Britain booth.

Cowboys take selfies, too.

Cowboys take selfies, too.

United States Equestrian Federation President David O'Connor and myself during the reining event.

United States Equestrian Federation President David O’Connor and myself during the reining event.

Dressage is so beautiful, even under cloudy skies!

Dressage is so beautiful, even under cloudy skies!

Another Rolex has come and gone...

Another Rolex has come and gone…

Leave a Reply

