Deadlifts? Yes! Box Jumps? No! CrossFit 14.3 Review


I realized I didn’t do a CrossFit Open 14.3 review, which is a shock because I am so proud of how I did!

For those who aren’t aware of what the 14.3 WOD was, here’s a review:

CrossFit Open
8 Minute AMRAP
10 deadlifts 135/95lb
15 box jumps 24/20
15 deadlifts 185/135 lb
15 box jumps
20 deadlifts 225/155 lb
15 box jumps
25 deadlifts 275/185 lb
15 box jumps
30 deadlifts 315/205 lb
15 box jumps
….

Before Friday, my one rep max deadlift was 175, which I was pretty proud of. When I watched the 14.3 live announcement, I didn’t think I would get close to the 185 round, so I didn’t think I had anything to worry about. I also knew that that many heavy deadlifts, plus box jumps, were going to be killer on my legs, especially after the long WOD we had the day before.

We set up for the WOD and Coach Brenton helped us set up so we could quickly change weights without much thinking. (Seriously, how did CrossFit expect us to be able to do math while lacking oxygen??) I warmed up with my 35lb bar and a couple of box jumps, then added my starting weights: 5 lb plates on the inside (which stayed on) and a 25lb plate on each side to start. The next round we’d add a 15lb plate. The third, remove the 15lb plate and add a second 25lb plate. The fourth, add the 15lb plate. That would total 185.

I started the WOD expecting to do box jumps the first two rounds, then depending on how my legs were, perform box step-ups (which were allowed). Well…I made it past the first round and decided that box step-ups would probably be faster than me taking my time shaking out my legs every couple of jumps.

When I got finished with the 155lb deadlifts, all I could think about was I was going to finish the step-ups with plenty of time to attempt the 185–whoa! I set up my weights and took a deep breath. Brenton stood next to me, reminding me to keep my back straight, shoulders back, and left with my legs first. One more deep breath and up I went…new deadlift PR of 185! Boom! Still some time left… Another deep breath….a second lift at 185. Still a little time left…a third. I squeezed out a fourth rep before time expired. My 1 rep max deadlift went from 175 to 185 in the span of 8 minutes, and became a 4-rep max. I finished 14.3 with 94 total reps…and a new deadlift PR.

2014-03-19 22.18.37

I didn’t get to cheer on my teammates on Sunday like previous weeks because I was out of town, but it looked like everyone did a solid job.

I’m excited to see what 14.4 brings us tonight. My guess is more heavy weights and gymnastics. Oi vey!

Your turn: How was your 14.3 attempt?

2 thoughts on “Deadlifts? Yes! Box Jumps? No! CrossFit 14.3 Review

    • I agree. 14.3 was my favorite. I’ll miss out on 14.5 traveling, but looking forward to seeing what it is (we’re guessing thrusters and burpees).

Leave a Reply

