Low Key St. Patty’s Day & Irish Soda Bread Recipe


I hope everyone had a good weekend and good St. Patrick’s Day. First, I’d like to give a quick shout-out to Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean Blog. Every Sunday she does her “Sunday Food Prep” post and I was featured in her post this weekend! 🙂 I admit I haven’t done much food prep since that post, but I swear I will get back into it at a better level because it makes life so much easier!

I spent the weekend at my first dog agility trial since November and it was great to be back. The pups were great, I enjoyed seeing my friends, and I learned my handling wasn’t as rusty as I thought it’d be. We leave for the AKC National Agility Championships in a little more than a week, so I’m starting to get pumped.

M and I celebrated a low-key St. Patrick’s Day on Monday. Sunday night, when I got home from the agility trial, I was inspired to bake Irish Soda Bread for the holiday. I’ve made it a couple times before and I love it. This time I combined two recipes to make kind-of my own. I used Anne’s Whole Wheat Irish Soda Bread and The Southern Lady Cooks’ Irish Soda Bread as my inspirations. What came out was a little sweeter, and more moist, bread that I’m obsessed with now.

IMG_20140317_095946

Irish Soda Bread with Apples

3 tablespoons (in chunks) softened butter or margarine
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
2 1/4 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup raisins
1 small apple, peeled and chopped (I used a Pink apple)
1 cup buttermilk (or 1 tablespoon lemon juice in 1 cup no-fat milk–this is what I did)

  1. Preheat oven to 375* F
  2. Combine the flours, sugar, baking soda and baking powder in a large bowl.
  3. Using a fork, cut the butter into the dry ingredients until it resembles fine crumbs.
  4. Stir in the buttermilk.
  5. Stir in the raisins and chopped apple.
  6. Turn dough on a lightly floured surface and knead a few times, until smooth. Shape into a round loaf and place on a greased baking sheet. Cut an X into the top of the dough about a half-inch deep. Baste with melted butter before placing in oven.
  7. Bake 35-45 minutes, until golden brown. Baste with melted butter half-way through baking.

I hadn’t thought of putting apple in until I saw Anne’s recipe. And I also mis-read the Southern Lady Cooks’ recipe and put in 1 cup of raisins instead of a 1/2 cup, but I love raisins, so I’m keeping it that way.

This was great with my scrambled egg whites for breakfast, plus a mid-morning snack at work.

And to top off the celebration, what else is better than green…..

My favorite Mexican restaurant had green house margaritas for the holiday!

My favorite Mexican restaurant had green house margaritas for the holiday!

margaritas! (You thought I was going to say beer, didn’t you??)

Your turn: What’s your favorite Irish recipe?

Leave a Reply

