Overhead Squats and Pull-ups…CrossFit 14.2


Just when you thought snatches and doubleunders are killers, 14.2 came at us with overhead squats and pull-ups. Oi vey!

Finally feeling back to 100%, I was able to participate in 14.2 for the CrossFit Open at Man O’War CrossFit on Friday. Unfortunately I knew I wouldn’t be able to Rx the WOD because I still cannot get my pull-ups without using two red bands. :-/ But I was going to push myself on the overhead squats at 65 pounds. (I’ve done OHS at 65, but we haven’t worked on them in a while.)

Here’s the WOD:

3 Minutes
10 overhead squats (65/95)
10 chest-to-bar Pull-Ups
2 rounds

3 minutes (3:00-6:00)
12 overhead squats 
12 chest-to-bar Pull-Ups
2 rounds

3 minutes (6:00-9:00)
14 overhead squats
14 chest-to-bar Pull-Ups
2 rounds

Continue adding 2 reps each round you continue.

If we weren’t officially competing in the Open, Taylor still wanted us to push until the 9 minute mark. But wherever we were at the 3 minute mark, we started back at the overhead squats. I didn’t get past the first round… whomp whomp. But I still pushed through, and I think it was just straight overhead squats for the next six minutes for me. (There might have been a few pull-ups mixed in, but I don’t remember.)

On Sunday I, again, went to cheer everyone on who was doing the official workout. One guy, David, made it to the round of 16 (finishing with 174 reps). Wow! My girl Natalie made it to the round of 12…impressive!

Coach versus Coach on 14.2. (Sorry for the poor photo quality!)

Coach versus Coach on 14.2. (Sorry for the poor photo quality!)

I know the pull-ups will come, I just need to keep doing the exercises that’ll help me get stronger (ring rows, bar pull-ups) and keep working on my kips.

Your turn: How’d you do on 14.2? What movements are your nemesis? 

Leave a Reply

