The CrossFit Open is Here!


It was the announcement everyone in the CrossFit Community has been waiting for: the first WOD of the 2014 CrossFit Open. When they announced that 14.1 was going to be a 10 minute AMRAP of 30 doubleunders and 15 snatches, I’m sure I heard the entire world moan.

This will be my first CrossFit Open to really observe. I’ve read about the event on Tina and Lindsay’s blogs before, but I’ve never experienced it for myself. And yet this year I did not register. Why? Well, maybe it was a lot of things, but I had to decide between spending the money on the Open or a half marathon…the half marathon won out.

But I’ll still be doing the workouts, so I’m still going to be pushing myself like everyone else…it just won’t be official. And I’m OK with that.

Unfortunately, though, I was not able to tackle 14.1. Wednesday I came down with a horrible cold that knocked me to the couch for days. It sucked. I didn’t do anything for three days and that sucked even more–my body hurt more from doing nothing than it does from an exhausting CrossFit WOD or long training run! It wasn’t until Sunday that I finally felt like I could tackle something to break a sweat.

So I headed to Man O’War CrossFit to get in a simple workout of my own (6, 500m row intervals, then 30 35lb kettle bell swings) and to cheer on everyone else doing their official 14.1. It was a lot of fun to cheer everyone on. We had guys who were doing their fourth Open, guys doing their first Open, and even on who just started doing doubleunders on Friday. Whether they scored 300+ or just 100, each one had a lot to be proud of.

Morgan tackled 14.1 a second time to better his score from Saturday. Sunday's score? 336

Morgan tackled 14.1 a second time to better his score from Saturday. Sunday’s score? 336

I had thought about giving the workout a try, but knowing that I’m still struggling to breathe normal, I knew it wasn’t smart for me to try that cardio-heavy workout just yet. But I’m hoping to be back to 100% for 14.2’s announcement and back to the box and my runs consistently all this week.

Your turn: Did you register for the Open? If not, why not?

Leave a Reply

