My First Attempt at Food Prep


So I’ve never been much of a good planner lately. M and I always talk about planning our meals ahead of time and making solid grocery lists and sticking to them when we shop, but we fail at that…unfortunately. At least we try!

But for some reason Sunday afternoon I got a wild hair to do a little food prep for the week.  I didn’t have a solid plan as to what we were going to have all week long, but I figured just doing a little bit would help. So here’s what I came up with:

wpid-PicsArt_1391988880721.jpg

You’ll see that I washed and cut up celery to have on hand either for snacks or to cook with later.

I made M some chicken salad so he can just grab it for his lunches either at work or when he’s at home (fat free mayo, diced celery, dill relish), and put them in two separate grab-and-go containers.

I tried a new cookie recipe for when I get hit with my sweet tooth (blueberry oatmeal cookies), but I’ve already decided the recipe needs work (a little dry).

I also tried a protein muffin recipe so I can grab one for a mid-morning snack for work. I changed the recipe from the pumpkin cinnamon roll protein muffins I found on Pinterest, so I’ll let you know how they taste and post the recipe.

I also pre-made Italian turkey meatballs for a meatball casserole I’m going to finish up for dinner tonight (this way I can just add the zucchini and spaghetti sauce and pop it in the oven.

Finally I pulled out some  beef veggie soup from the freezer that M’s mom had made for us. I’ve been taking some for my lunches at work along with a sandwich.

Hopefully next time I can do a little more for prep to help with meal selection. At dinner we usually make more than two servings so M can take the leftovers to work for his “lunch.” That’s been a big help.

One thing about it, I did feel accomplished writing out this list of what all I’ve finished this afternoon.

Thanks to Lindsay for the constant inspiration. Check out her weekly posts on for food prep every Sunday for her ideas and other blogger’s food prep ideas.

Your turn: Do you do weekly food prep? If so, share your tips!

8 thoughts on “My First Attempt at Food Prep

  1. I’m sorry my cookies didn’t turn out soft and chewy for you! I’ve found that it really matters how I measure the oats. If I scoop them, I end up with nearly 1.5x the amount, which really makes the cookies dry. If I lightly spoon and level the oats (like with flour), the cookies turn out super moist. I wonder if that’s what happened to yours? But I really appreciate that you took the time to bake them!

    • That is so good to know! They have a great taste, I do like them. I’ve never heard about scooping the oatmeal like that, so I’ll give that a try. I was about to comment on your blog to ask what I might have done wrong. Thanks so much!!

      • You’re welcome Megan! When I originally published the recipe, I completely forgot to link back to my “Baking Basics” post where I explained how to measure oats correctly, so it’s totally my fault. I’d love to hear what you think of the cookies if you try them again!

  2. I don’t do food prep but I can see it really helps make things easier and prevents being too unhealthy. I’ve made a start trying to plan my meals a bit more but it only ever lasts for a few days unfortunately!

    • I am in the same boat. It’s hard to start a healthy habit, but well worth it. I can’t do food prep this weekend (out of town), but I’m hoping to continue it down the line.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Food Prep Inspiration 56

Leave a Reply

