A Short Respite From Winter & A Run


Saturday we saw a short respite from the rough winter we’ve been having lately. Just a week removed from a blizzard and frigid temperatures, the morning dawned in the 40s and sun…SUN!

I met my friend Joy for a 6-mile run around downtown Lexington. She’s training for the Run the Bluegrass and I’m training…for nothing. Unfortunately, due to financial reasons, I can’t afford to sign up for either the Kentucky Derby Half Marathon nor the Indianapolis 500 Mini Marathon. But that doesn’t mean I’m giving up on running–I still want to build my mileage back up so when it comes time for me to be able to register for a half marathon this year, I’ll be ready!

It felt so weird having to decide what to wear for the run being in the 40s and not single digits. I went with my Nike warm capris, a short sleeved shirt, and a 3/4 zip pullover that has fleece on the inside, along with a headband to cover my ears. Great decision!

We averaged about 10:10 miles, and that’s with stopping at road crossings (one of the bad things about running downtown), which is pretty darn good. Considering I hadn’t run in over a week, and I completed a week of some heavy leg work at Man O’War CrossFit, I was afraid my legs wouldn’t be able to handle it, so I was up for a leisurely run. The hour went by so fast while we chatted throughout the run–it didn’t even feel like 6 miles and I almost could have gone for a little longer!

We capped off our run with a trip to North Lime Donuts (warm, freshly made yeast donuts? Yes, please!) and I was able to take the truck to get washed (which makes me very, very happy).

The day was capped off with some agility training with my dogs and a friend’s two dogs. She’s sidelined from having a couple of broken ribs, so I’m taking over on training her dog and possibly running him at the AKC Nationals, so I had to capitalize on the beautiful weather we had.

And then Sunday turned cold…and raining…and gross. Boo. Back to winter.

Your turn: How was your weekend?

2 thoughts on “A Short Respite From Winter & A Run

  1. Ahhh donuts are the perfect motivation for a morning run! My pup took an agility class once and he LOVED it. I keep waiting for our training center to offer more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

