Link Love: Good Reads on CrossFit, Running, & Depression


I haven’t done a Link Love post in quite some time, but I’ve spent a lot of time lately ignoring work reading some great new posts that I wanted to share with everyone.

LinkLove

10 Lessons Running Teaches You about Life (The Daily Runner): I love #1 (When things get tough, just keep going) and #7 (You define your own limits). I mean, seriously, how honest is that? You know that the middle of that steep hill is going to suck, but it’s not going to get any better until you push through and get to the top. Stopping in the middle of something difficult, such as working on an article (let’s say), is only going to prolong the pain/difficulty. If you push through, get the job done, you’ll be rewarded on the other side.

Weathering the Storm (Cesar’s Way): As someone who has a dog that is scared to pieces whenever thunder rolls and lightening strikes, I’m always looking for ways to help LaMesa weather the storms a little easier. We’ve purchased the ThunderShirt, but it doesn’t always help. However, I hadn’t thought of the tip in the article saying have her wear the ThunderShirt during calm weather so she associates that with calm more than storms. DUH! Why hadn’t I thought of that?? Read on to get more tips.

Why I WILL NOT Quit CrossFit (Running Wilder):¬†Preach it, sistah!! I never said that CrossFit was for everyone, but I do believe everyone (that likes working out) should give it a good ole fashion try at some point. There are some of us who dive a little more into our passions. And I have become very passionate about CrossFit. I won’t judge you for what you’re passionate about, so please don’t judge me.

Guess Who’s Back in Town (Passion for Life, Love, and Health): I know how hard it is to post something so personal such as a battle with depression. When you’re in a slump, you don’t feel the motivation to do much of anything. There are weeks where I don’t feel like writing, and I don’t. So you’ll see some long stretches of no activity on here, but like Ashleigh, I’m still here and still fighting.

Great posts, great reads for a chilly week. I hope you enjoy them!

Your turn: What’s been one (or two) of your favorite reads this week?

Leave a Reply

