CrossFit Friday = Face Your Fear Friday


It’s been an up and down week as far as workouts go. I went to Man O’War CrossFit four times this week, with a 3.6 mile run on Wednesday morning. I’ve been battling a cold, but I always feel like I feel better after I sweat some of the sickness out, so I just pushed through the workouts…then rested at home afterwards. It’s been keeping my energy pretty level this week, which is a good thing.

Here were this week’s WODs:

20131108-093107.jpgWe’re really working on our strength this month at the box, which has actually been a lot of fun, and very challenging. Thursday’s partner WOD actually turned into a “threesome WOD” because we had 3 people there. So while one person ran the 100 m with a plate overhead, the other two did the box dips and knees to elbows. Then we’d rotate–1 run, 2 do the rounds. This lasted for 20 minutes, which is a really long time for WODs, and let me tell you–my shoulders are killing me this morning!

And, yes, today’s WOD included box jumps…after doing heavy front an back squats and with wall balls. You might recall that I’ve been working back up to the 20″ boxes after my accident in September. Last time we did box jumps, I was using the 12″ box with a 45 pound plate on top. But today I decided to just try it. Taylor was calling it “Face Your Fear Friday” and while I was just bullshitting with him, I casually jumped up on the 20″ box–no sweat! Could I do it for 10 rounds of 5, after 10 wall balls and all those squats? I was going to try…

Twenty minutes later, we did the WOD. And I did all 50 box jumps with no stubbed toes, no shaky knees, no second guessing–I just did them. Only a couple of times did I think to myself “Oh my gosh, my quads are burning…I’m so tired…” but I quickly shook that out of my head and just jumped. I took each jump one at a time, and smiled after each set was completed. I finished the WOD as prescribed in 9:35–BEAST!

20131108-093136.jpg(I even did a couple more so Taylor could take photographic proof!)

I’m so pumped!! I haven’t felt this proud of myself in the box in a long time. It might sound cheesy, but I’m just feeling badass right now…and I’ll keep it that way.

Your turn: Brag about it! What badass thing have you accomplished this week?

 

 

One thought on “CrossFit Friday = Face Your Fear Friday

  1. YAY for conquering those evil box jumps, I don’t think I would have been able to after an incident like yours. Man, reading this really makes me miss cross fit! I can’t wait to get another friend to buy me a groupon or to work full time and be able to pay the steep monthly fee. Taylor needs to have a grad student discount!

Leave a Reply

