CrossFit: It’s All Mental


If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the six months I’ve been doing CrossFit at Man O’War CrossFit, it’s that this sport is just as much mental as it is physical. But, then again, so is running. Maybe that’s why I like it so much?

I came to this conclusion last week, as I started to work towards getting back to my 20″ box jumps since my accident a few weeks ago. About a week after the accident I did a competition WOD that included burpee box step-ups, which was the first time I had done a similar movement to that day. Taylor said it was a positive step in the right direction.

Then last week I started working back to jumping the standard height, but by using the 12″ box with a 25 pound plate on top to add some height. I had been working, by myself, in a separate room on the box jumps because I didn’t want all eyes on me. In my mind, I assumed people were thinking, “Will she be brave enough to get back up there?” etc. Most likely no one was really thinking about that, or judging me in any way, but you can’t help but think about those things and maybe doubt yourself when you’ve had a scary incident like I did.

Let’s face it: BOX JUMPS ARE SCARY!

Slowly building back my height for box jumps, which also means slowly rebuilding my confidence in the box.

Slowly building back my height for box jumps, which also means slowly rebuilding my confidence in the box.

But I pushed through, pushed out all the doubts and concerns, focused on a spot on the floor to blur out everything else, and just jumped.

And then I did it again this morning, completing 50 box jumps on a 12″ box with a 45 pound plate on top. To my right was Taylor, working on 30″ box jumps. A couple of times I saw him stub his toe on the edge going up, a lot like what I did, and I winced–he caught himself and kept going without losing rhythm, and I kept looking straight ahead, telling myself to just keep jumping.

That’s what we tell ourselves–just one more. Keep pushing. Keep going. You can do it. Without that mental cheering, would you be able to get through a WOD? I don’t think so. I know I definitely needed it to get through today’s “fun”:

Today's WOD was a test of physical and mental conditioning.

Today’s WOD was a test of physical and mental conditioning.

CrossFit is just as much mental as it is physical. You have to make yourself believe you can deadlift how much you weigh before you can even wrap your hands around that barbell. You have to give yourself that pep talk as you walk through the doors, telling yourself that yes, you’re tired, yes you’d rather be sleeping, but think of how bad ass you’re going to feel in an hour.

MentalToughness

Considering everything I’ve gone through this summer, I relish these mental breaks when I walk into the box. It’s the one of the few things any more that keeps me going every day. Yes…I go to CrossFit 4-5 days a week, but it’s because I need it mentally. CrossFit makes you feel like you can tackle the world after completing a WOD. It empowers you in so many ways.

Your turn: How do you mentally prepare for a tough workout or run?

2 thoughts on “CrossFit: It’s All Mental

  1. I’ve been a crossfitter for nearly a month now. I am at 12″ box jumps. I worry sometimes that I will never be ready (mentally or physically) for anything taller! Box jumps ARE scary!

  2. I’ve been a crossfitter for nearly a month. I am doing 12″ box jumps. I worry I may never be (mentally or physically) ready for anything taller. Box jumps ARE scary!

Leave a Reply

