Happy 40th to an Inspiring Couple


Today celebrates my parents’ 40th wedding anniversary. Crazy, right? In this day and age when a lot of people easily just give up on each other and divorce like nothing matters, to be married for 40 years and still going strong is so inspiring, especially since M and I just celebrated our first anniversary.

My parents haven’t had it very easy–they’ve dealt with many stresses like lost jobs, debilitating diseases, injuries, in-laws, etc. They’ve bred and shown some of the top dogs in the country, raised some very headstrong daughters, built houses, harvested hay, and started and cultivated businesses.

I’m very lucky to have such wonderful parents that have been supportive in every way possible for my sister and myself. They never told me “no” when it came to something I wanted to do that would allow me to follow my dreams. Instead of just giving it to me, though, they taught me about hard work and helped me achieve what I wanted. They’ve always been my biggest cheerleaders, and I hope I’m their biggest cheerleader.

1374287_10100347601521079_460383496_n

Now they’re on a new life path: with my mom’s surgery, they hope they can tackle many more years together.

Unfortunate blurry photo from Christmas 2012. I can't wait to compare this year's photo with my mom's weight loss!

Unfortunate blurry photo from Christmas 2012. I can’t wait to compare this year’s photo with my mom’s weight loss!

Happy 40th wedding anniversary, mom and dad! I love you very much and thank you for being the best influences I could ever ask for!

Your turn: What’s the longest marriage you personally know?

One thought on “Happy 40th to an Inspiring Couple

Leave a Reply

