How We Celebrated 1 Year


As you may recall, Sunday was our one-year wedding anniversary. But since M was scheduled to work 12 hours that day, we celebrated a few days early with a day trip to Cincinnati to visit the Cincinnati Zoo and have dinner at the Cheesecake Factory (which is always a special treat for us). Here are some pics from the Zoo:

LOVE the giraffes!

LOVE the giraffes!

Bet you didn't know....

Bet you didn’t know….

A lot of the animals were sleeping when we were at the zoo, including these lionesses.

A lot of the animals were sleeping when we were at the zoo, including these lionesses.

Including our delicious cheesecake with a sweet note from our waitress!

Soooo good!

Soooo good!

But I still wanted to do something special on Sunday, so while he was at work, I braved the torrential downpour and headed to Whole Foods where I bought some crab cakes from the meat department (two different kinds: one jumbo lump crab cake with breadcrumbs, the other gluten free with peppers for a different flavor) and some green beans with swiss chard from the hot bar. I wanted to create a meal that would remind us of our wedding and our honeymoon–I enjoyed lots of crabcakes in South Carolina, so that’s where those came in, and then I baked cornbread muffins with honey to remember the cornbread served at our reception. I also bought some salad mix and made my pumpkin butter vinaigrette, and served a Moscato wine. Needless to say, it was delicious:

Dinner, minus the salad and cornbread muffins.

Dinner, minus the salad and cornbread muffins.

Then, as tradition holds, we cut into the top layer of our wedding cake. I have to admit, we were a little nervous about eating the cake that had been sitting in our freezer for a year now, but it was still pretty darn good! Just a little dry, but the cream cheese filling was still smooth. But just in case, I bought a couple of gourmet cupcakes to celebrate.

Remarkably, even after a year this tasted pretty decent! (I've had "fresh" store-bought cakes that tasted worse.)

Remarkably, even after a year this tasted pretty decent! (I’ve had “fresh” store-bought cakes that tasted worse.)

Then came the gift I got for M. The first year is traditionally a paper gift. We’ve saved ticket stubs from different events and places we’ve gone to ever since we started dating more than four years ago. So I took quite a few of those ticket stubs and handouts and wanted to make a better way to display them. I found a canvas frame at Michael’s that I thought was perfect, so I spent a couple of weeks working on my project. First I painted the canvas black, then I Modge Podged the ticket stubs (just like when I made my running bib display). For the photo I chose the first photo we had taken with each other. Perfect!

Then, since we’ve had such a crappy, rough first year, I decided I wanted us to toast to the next year being good luck, so I bought a couple of scratch off lottery tickets and a PowerBall ticket. (Unfortunately all three were losers, so let’s hope that’s not indicative to the next year’s luck…)

The "memory frame" and lottery tickets was my creative contribution to our anniversary celebration.

The “memory frame” and lottery tickets was my creative contribution to our anniversary celebration.

Unfortunately the tickets were all busts...whomp whomp. :-(

Unfortunately the tickets were all busts…whomp whomp. 😦

It was a great way to celebrate the first year, even if it wasn’t the most romantic in some ways, or taking a trip like we wanted to do. We have the rest of our lives for that!

Your turn: How have you celebrated special moments on a different day?

Leave a Reply

