Battle of the Hair: Headbands That Don’t Stay Put


Women with long hair, unite!!

It seems like it’s a struggle everyday in workouts, and I’m not talking about weight lifting or the extra mileage. I’m talking about my hair. I have long, thick, naturally curly hair, which can be a blessing and a curse, and but it’s been more of a curse lately.

I’m constantly having to re-do my ponytail, figure out how to wrap up my tresses so they don’t get caught up in my jump rope for double-unders, and taking off/putting back on my headband. It’s so frustrating!

I’ve tried the Goody StayPut Headbands:

I've only been able to find the thin ones, not the wider ones.

I’ve only been able to find the thin ones, not the wider ones.

And I’ve tried other sport headbands that are fabric with some rubbery glue on the inside. When M and I were in Cincinnati this week we were walking through a mall and I stopped inside Lululemon to check them out. (My first time!) While I couldn’t afford the $88 running crops or the $58 shorts that I’d love to own, I saw their selection of headbands and decided to give them a try. I purchased the Swiftly Headband in hopes that this would be the end-all to my issue.

It wasn’t.

I wore my Swiftly Headband to Man O’War CrossFit this morning for my workout and the darn thing wouldn’t stay put for my warm-up! Soo frustrating!

Update: I think I actually bought Lululemon’s Fly Away Tamer. I looked online and compared the headbands again, which bums me out more, since others have said to try that one.

So now I’m putting the call-out: What do you use to help tame your tresses for active workouts like CrossFit and running? 

I’m at my wits’ end almost!

9 thoughts on “Battle of the Hair: Headbands That Don’t Stay Put

  1. Lululemon headbands are legendary…just not the Swiftlys!! I’m sorry you got so close to finding success. I too have long, curly, unmanageable hair and have had the best luck with lululemon headbands. Sadly they do not make the best model any more- the Slipless headbands – but you might run across them on eBay. The Fly Away Tamer has replaced the Slipless and seems to work better for me than the Swiftly headband. They are a bit wider and tighter, which helps it stay on. Good luck!

  2. I’ve had two lululemon headbands, and they’re cute but they don’t deal with flyaways and they shift so I either have to hold them in place with hairpins or prepare to fiddle with them. I am still on the hunt for a good one too! I have fine curly hair, so it’s not as though there’s a high volume of hair to contend with…

  3. Sweaty bands. They are ALSO in Cincinnati, but you can usually find them at race expos, etc. They are a little pricey, but not compared to the Lulu, and I LOVE them.

  4. Bondi Bands work for me, but I have long fine hair. My head is also small and so far they are the only thing I have found that stay put. They are also cheap.

  5. Clip’n Band is the only headband that stays on my head. The reason it doesn’t slip off is because it has clips sewn on the inside of the headband to hold it in place.
    It really won’t move.
    Like I said, I have never been able to wear headbands until I found Clip’n Band.
    The great thing is that Clip’n Band is having a clearance event and offering crazy low prices on their Facebook page starting on 6/18/14. Their page is facebook.com/clipnband. You must like their page to participate.
    Or you can visit their website at http://www.clipnband.com.

Leave a Reply

