Apple Pie Protein Smoothie: A Cold Taste of Fall


It’s September! But, yet, it’s still like 90* outside. You want to celebrate Fall, but still continue to celebrate Summer. I think I found the best protein smoothie to do just that:

A week or so ago, I had cut up an apple to go with my lunch. It was a big apple, so I had half of it left by the time I was full. I decided I was going to try freezing the slices I had left to later try my hand at a smoothie with frozen apples.

The other morning, I was really bummed that I didn’t have any spinach or plain Greek yogurt to make my normal protein smoothie after CrossFit. Then I remembered about those frozen apple slices. I quickly grabbed up some ingredients and came up with, what I think, is one of the best protein smoothies I’ve ever had. It was seriously like having a frozen apple pie in a glass.

photo-26

Apple Pie Protein Smoothie

Half to a whole apple, sliced (doesn’t have to be frozen, but I liked how cold this came out when the slices were frozen)
1 scoop vanilla bean protein powder
1/4 cup of nonfat milk (rough guess–depends on how thick you want it)
Slivered almonds
Ground flax seed
Cinnamon to taste

  1. In a blender, combine the apple slices, milk, protein powder, slivered almonds, and flax seed.
  2. Sprinkle cinnamon to taste.
  3. Enjoy!

Sooo good! You can change it up however you’d like–use Granny Smith apples instead of Jazz apples…use vanilla almond milk…that’s the beauty of protein smoothies–they’re easy to make to your taste!

One thought on “Apple Pie Protein Smoothie: A Cold Taste of Fall

Leave a Reply

