Running: Good for What Ails You


After my rough Tuesday, I decided I needed a mental break from what’s been the norm lately.

I decided that I needed a day off from CrossFit because I was starting to get competitive with the other girls in my box, wanting to lift the high weights and finish the same amount of rounds as they do (even though they’ve been doing CF longer than me). That isn’t the right mindset to have in CrossFit. You’re supposed to compete with yourself–push yourself to new limits, but don’t hurt yourself.

I haven’t gone for a run in a while because I wanted to rest my knee from that pounding and hope my plantar fasciitis is on the road to healing. Quite frankly, I hadn’t really missed running…up until Tuesday night.

So Wednesday morning I laced up my new Saucony shoes (that were purchased almost a month ago and still in their box), grabbed my running belt, and hit the road. My goal was to just run. I’ve been running/walking the mile to and mile back from Man O’War CrossFit daily, but I hoped to go further than just a mile.

No music. No running partners. Just the sound of my feet hitting the blacktop and my breathing as I struggled against the thick, humid air.

Aren't my new Saucony Rides badass looking? Finally, running shoes for my "special feet" that look cool! Thanks, Saucony!

Aren’t my new Saucony Rides badass looking? Finally, running shoes for my “special feet” that look cool! Thanks, Saucony! (PS Man, my legs look tan in this photo! w00t!)

It wasn’t a fast run, and I did walk a couple of times, but it was a run. And it was what I needed mentally and physically.

3.60 miles in 34:19 of free, pure therapy, without the prescription.

And you know what? My head was clearer. I had a game plan for the rest of the day, and I felt confident I’d follow through this time. I went to Panera later that morning and spent three hours there busting out interview transcriptions, re-wrote my article I lost on Tuesday, and wrote a second article.

I came home feeling so much better about myself and reigniting my confidence in my writing. I just hope it’s something that’ll continue.

Oh, and guess what. After spending an extra long time stretching, and then rolling a frozen water bottle under my right foot, I’m happy to report my knee feels great and my heel is no worse for wear! Though I’m still going to take it easy getting back into running.

Your turn: What do you do to clear your mind? What reinvigorates you mentally and physically?

2 thoughts on “Running: Good for What Ails You

  1. Girl I’m so happy you got out for a run and it felt good! Yay for finishing your article and writing another one too! I know some of those girls at cross fit, do not let yourself try to compete with them! Remember, you were working on doing the movements correct and improving yourself, not someone else!

Leave a Reply

