Hodge Podge: Rough Tuesday, Yummy Cookies, Remembering 9/11


It’s Wednesday…Hump Day. Here’s hoping this day treats me better than Tuesday did.

Tuesday morning dawned way too fast, as it always tends to when I ref the night before. After about 4.5 hours of sleep, I headed to Man O’War CrossFit for my daily torture. The WOD was rough:

20 AMRAP
10 Push Presses
10 Kettlebell Swings
10 Box Jumps

I did push presses at 55 pounds (Rx was 85), used a 35 pound kettlebell (Rx) and did 20-inch box jumps (Rx). I got through 8 rounds, plus five push presses. Needless to say, it was a killer workout, as most of our Tuesday WODs are. I felt so gassed after just a couple of rounds.

The rest of the day seemed to be like any other, until I discovered an article I worked so hard on and finished yesterday was gone. Yep. Two-thousands words gone. All that was left was 1.5 paragraphs. I was devastated. I had a complete meltdown–I’ve never been so upset over an article in my entire career. I’ve had such a rough time focusing on tasks at hand, and working through even the simplest things. It’s an affect of the depression I’ve been suffering from this year. That’s also partly why I feel so tired during my workouts. It’s affected a lot of different things in my life, and I’ve been working on a blog post to address it sometime soon.

So, to combat the sudden meltdown, I took to the kitchen. In the CrockPot I started dinner, which was a delicious vegetarian meal from Lindsay at the Lean Green Bean BlogCrockPot Enchilada Casserole. I chopped up green, red, and orange bell peppers; a sweet potato; used some fresh spinach; and frozen corn for the veggies, and used leftover frozen lentils instead of black beans. The hubby and I topped our servings with Greek yogurt and a little more chunky salsa. It’s such an easy meal that’s so healthy.

Later last night I was inspired to bake–another coping mechanism (eating is a big one, so of course I have to bake something to eat it). Again, Lindsay to the rescue! Earlier she tweeted that she had a recipe in a contest for using avocados, and it sounded perfect. I whipped up a batch of her Peanut Butter Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies for me and M and fell in love. They are so good! I urge you to whip up a batch, then vote for her recipe!

photo-27

I’m hoping for a better day today. Of course I haven’t forgotten that this is the 12 year anniversary of 9/11. Everyone remembers where they were when the Towers were struck–I was in Freshman Orientation and Mass Communications, in maybe only my fourth week at Murray State University. My husband (whom I hadn’t met yet) was serving just outside Washington, D.C. doing basic for the Air Force. My heart will always be a little heavy on this day. May we never forget.

Let’s talk: Have you ever overreacted at something that maybe usually wouldn’t bother you?

Where were you on September 11, 2001?

One thought on “Hodge Podge: Rough Tuesday, Yummy Cookies, Remembering 9/11

  1. Oh I’m so sorry to hear about your article disappearing and the way you have been feeling making it feel so much worse :(. I’m a big stress eater and eating is my main coping mechanism for most things. I hope thing start feeling better soon, it’s hard when you feel down and there doesn’t seem to be anything you can do about it.

Leave a Reply

