Scenes from the Weekend


Hello and happy Monday! I hope you had a good weekend. I know I had a good weekend, so I thought I’d share some of it in photos.

Saturday kicked off with an early morning WOD at Man O’War CrossFit, followed by a chiropractor appointment for Dally (good news: her swollen disc has healed!), agility work session with LaMesa, volunteering at the Friends of the Dog Park Doggie Paddle, and then hitting the Kentucky State BBQ Festival for dinner with the hubs.

Sunday was much more relaxed, with me attempting a new pancake recipe (corn muffin pancakes with blueberries–rather dry, will have to see about improving them) and a trip to the gym to support the hubs (it was supposed to be my rest day, so I just did a light 15 minute session on the elliptical and then spent 30 minutes stretching out all the tight spots). We cheered the Indianapolis Colts to a victory (which makes up for my Notre Dame Irish and Texas Longhorns losing Saturday) and then relaxed the rest of the day.

20130908-210418.jpg

Friday & Saturday’s WODs: Rough! I’m getting better at my Toes to Bar, though–more like Knees to Armpits now. I finished Saturday’s WOD in around 10 minutes.

20130908-210436.jpg

I love training agility here–my friend Sandra built this barn with astroturf, Big Ass Fans, and brand new equipment a few years ago. So lucky.

20130908-210454.jpg

I went outside the box at the Kentucky BBQ Festival Saturday. Dinner was the “BBQ Sundae” at Fireside BBQ: Bourbon Baked Beans, Key Lime Cole Slaw, and Pulled Pork layered on top. Desert was salted caramel gelato (with caramel truffles) in a waffle cone shared with the hubby, and a couple of cupcakes (Elvis Preseley–banana cake w/peanut butter inside, chocolate icing on top & PB&J–yellow cake w/jelly inside, peanut butter icing on top w/jelly in the middle, split with the hubby)

20130908-210507.jpg

Even Dally was taking “relaxing Sunday mornings” seriously.

How was your weekend?

Have you ever tried anything that look gross, but turned out delicious? The BBQ sundae was that for me–doesn’t look pretty, but it was sooo good!

Leave a Reply

