Getting Crafty: Running Bib Artwork


Happy Labor Day!! I hope you’re able to enjoy the extra day off from work with some fun things! 

I don’t know about you, but I’ve collected quite a few bibs from running in races in just the past few years. When I used to work in a cubicle, I would display my bibs on one wall, writing my race times on the back of each one. But now that I don’t have an office/cubicle wall, the bibs were just in a pile in the bookshelf. I wasn’t sure what to do with them, but I knew I didn’t want to just throw them away–each bib has a story to tell.

So I came up with an idea…why not display my bibs as a work of art?

I borrowed a jar of Mod Podge from a crafty friend and purchased a plain canvas from Hobby Lobby and then set down to arrange my pieces.

First I just laid out all of the bibs on the canvas to figure out how to layer them so they all fit on the 16×20 canvas. Once I got the arrangement I liked, I used scotch tape to lightly secure everything in its place before using the Mod Podge.

Then came the fun part of painting on the Mod Podge. I’d start with the first layers, then start slathering on the glue. After everything had dried, it was time to paint on another layer of Mod Podge to seal everything.

Now I have my own piece of art that I hung in M’s office, along with some other memorabilia.

photo-23

I saved my two half marathon bibs from the canvas because I want to figure out something cool to do with them.

Your turn: What have you done to display your race bibs?

Leave a Reply

