Recipe: Cheesy Quinoa & Yellow Squash


I’ve mentioned earlier how my brother-in-law gave me a ton of zucchini and yellow squash from his garden. I’ve been trying to figure out ways to use it up or save it for later. Last week I blanched quite a few of the produce, and I also attempted my first zucchini bread thanks to my friend Nicole’s recipe.

One day I was really craving something with quinoa. But I also knew I needed some veggies with our dinner (which included grilled chicken breast and mashed sweet potatoes). So I scoured my cabinet and found a can of vegetable broth and my bag of quinoa and I decided to try to whip up something on my own.

photo-18

Cheesy Quinoa & Yellow Squash

1 cup quinoa, rinsed
2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
1 medium yellow squash, sliced & quartered
1/8 tsp minced garlic
Olive oil
Garlic powder
Basil
Shredded cheese (I used a colby jack mix and some mozzarella)

  1. Rinse your quinoa, then place in a saucepan with the 2 cups of low-sodium vegetable broth. Follow directions for cooking.
  2. While the quinoa is cooking, sauté your yellow squash in the olive oil with minced garlic, garlic powder and dried basil to taste.
  3. When you have about 3 minutes left for the quinoa to cook, add your sautéed squash to the saucepan.
  4. Once the liquid has been absorbed in the quinoa, add your cheese and spices to taste. If you want it really cheesy, add lots of cheese. If you feel the dish needs more garlic powder, pepper, or salt, add it.

This is a really easy, flexible dish. I didn’t measure the spices because I wanted to wait until the whole thing was cooked, then I added until I got the right taste for the meal. I was a little nervous about the dish, but it was a raving success with M and myself. It was hard to not want to eat the whole pan. I even told my brother-in-law about the dish and he tried it (his first time ever having quinoa) and loves it.

So give it a try. I can see using zucchini in this as well. If you try this with a different veggie (broccoli, hello?), let me know!

How do you throw together a new dish?

Leave a Reply

