Little Struggles


**I got to write my first guest post for my friend Nicole’s blog while she’s on vacation! The post is up today, so be sure to check out Fruit N Fitness for my post, plus to see what all Nicole has to offer!**

We all have them. Those things that frustrate us so, wreak havoc on our good moods or ruin a good workout. Things you know you need to work on, and you do, but it seems like they’re always going to be a struggle.

Yesterday I was confronted with one that I’ve known I needed to improve during our workout at Man O’War CrossFit. My CrossFit struggle/demon?

OVERHEAD SQUATS

(Insert the “dun, dun, duuuuun” music)

The strength portion of our workout was to work on our overhead squats for 3-3-2-2-1-1, gradually increasing our weight. Then the WOD was a 15 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) 3 pull-ups, 3 box dips, 6 kettlebell swings (35 lb), and 9 overhead squats.

For some reason with overhead squats, I get in my head way too much. Granted, with the move you have to make sure you’re pressing up on the bar to lock your elbows, making sure you core is tight, and you’re looking up to keep your chest up and balance in order. So, there is a lot to think about, but if you start thinking too much it can spell disaster.

Luckily I have a patient coach who knows when to push me and when to let me walk away. At one point I was so frustrated that after I dropped the weight (75 lbs) I walked around the box and he just said, “Walk it off, clear you mind, then come back when you’re ready.” And that’s what I did.

It was still hard. I start to feel my left arm try to bend or give out, I try to use my core to strengthen my upper body, but by then it’s too late and the bar is moving forward and I drop it.

And when the weight gets heavier, it gets harder to get the weight over your head. So then you have to do a thrust and get under the barn and use your legs to push it up more before you even do the overhead squat. So as if you’re not frustrated enough…

What little struggles do you have?

Another little struggle I have is pacing myself on my runs–I go all out way too much and then tire after a few miles. However, if I run with a group of friends, they help me pace myself, which is what I need. I just can’t do it by myself? Anyone else?

 

2 thoughts on “Little Struggles

Leave a Reply

