Traversing the Unknown


This post has been two months in the making…and it might not be totally fleshed out at this point, but I have just felt the need to write.

I mentioned earlier that I was going out on my own for now–it’s time for me to really find the path that I’m meant to do and that will make me happiest. It’s been more than a  month since and I’m still in a fog of the unknown.

Let’s backtrack a little, for those who don’t know me as well. I grew up wanting to write. I’d write short stories and books telling many different types of tales. When I was in grade school I helped launch the Raider Reporter, Our Lady of Mt. Carmel’s newspaper when I was in sixth grade. It was then that my love of journalism blossomed. I started attending writing camps at Butler University, and I knew I wanted to be a journalist.

In high school I took the required English classes, as well as an introduction to journalism before I was able to join the staff of the Rock Release, our bi-weekly newspaper in which I was a photographer, staff writer, and later Photo Editor. I completed an internship with the local newspaper as a photographer and did independent studies in photojournalism, all while planning to major in journalism in college. While attending college, I majored in print journalism and minored in equine science, deciding to aim my career to be an equine journalist.

More internships (media relations at a local horse racetrack and an equine association publication) led to freelancing gigs until I landed my first full-time job as an editorial assistant with another equine association publication.

Dream

Building a freelancing career in an already-flooded marketplace is difficult. You rack your brain daily to come up with an article idea that hasn’t already been done before so you can pitch it to a new magazine. You realize that your livelihood is managed with each word you type.

So it makes one wonder… Is this something I can continue the rest of my life?

But if I don’t want to continue writing and being in the journalism field, what do I want to do?

It seems so crazy to think I’d want to change my life from what I had as pre-determined since grade school. I was so focused on journalism, I didn’t explore other subjects or other ideas of another career. So I kind-of pigeon-holed myself into my area.

I’ve reached a point in my life where I have to decide what it is I want to do for the rest of my life. You’d think I had that figured out in my 20s, but now that I’m 30, it’s time now to really traverse the unknown that is my career and my life.

Have you ever hit a point where you’re not sure what you’re doing now is what you want to do the rest of your life?

2 thoughts on “Traversing the Unknown

  1. I’m in a similar situation… I’m getting married and moving all in the next few months. I have no idea what to do and no connections besides my fiance’s family and friends. All my post-college work experience has been newspaper journalism — writing and editing — and I’m not quite sure I want to continue down that road, but what else would I do? My fiance suggested just focusing on my photography, but that’s not an easy field just to walk into… especially in an area where I’m unknown.

    My advice to you, is what I keep telling myself: Just keep on, it will all unfold how it is meant too.

    • First of all, congrats on the impending wedding!! It is such a stressful time, trust me, I know. I’ve found using your connections (no matter if family or via in-laws) helps–that’s how I’ve been able to expand my freelancing career. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

