Working Out with Indy CrossFit North


Thank you for the well-wishes for my mom’s surgery. Everything went well and I’ll do a post with an update later this week.

Since I was going to be in Indiana for about a week, I was concerned about missing CrossFit for an entire week. Luckily Taylor (at Man O’War CrossFit) suggested doing a drop-in workout at one of the Central Indiana boxes. I did some research and found CrossFit Indy North in Noblesville, about 30 minutes from my parents’ farm.

If you are following the CrossFit Games, Indy North sent a team and one Masters competitor. Pretty badass. They’ve been around for a few good years, starting out in the owner’s garage before moving into their current box.

20130723-155137.jpg

(Sorry for the not-so-good photos, I forgot my camera and had to rely on my phone.)

20130723-155407.jpg20130723-155447.jpg

If you’re traveling and wish to get in a workout at a different box, I recommend doing your research early and contacting the box before your travels to see if they will allow a drop-in. Most are receptive and let you get in one workout free.

We warmed up with a 600 m run, outside, and then a set of loosening movements including kettlebell swings, etc. We then went over the strength portion which included a snatch with 2 overhead squats, working up to 80% of your max. The coach, Lindsay, helped me work on my form on my overhead squats. She noticed my left arm would cause me to lean a little going down. She recommended I focus on pointing my armpits forward when I snatched and shrug my shoulders up. Meanwhile, I needed to look higher with my eyes as I squatted down and up. Doing all of this, as well as remembering to tighten my abs, helped a lot. But for the WOD she wanted me to use just the 35 lb bar so I wouldn’t lose my form doing 75 overhead squats.

The WOD:

Nancy
400 m run
15 overhead squats
5 rounds for time

Most of us performed the WOD outside, with a nice breeze (the A/C was acting up so they had all the doors open). We ran down the street for 200 m then turned around and ran back for the 400 m. I finished in 16:40. Not bad! I’d like to really work on my overhead squats so I can do Nancy as prescribed–65 lbs.

It was a lot of fun working out with a different box. Lindsay said I was welcome to come back any time, which is great.

20130723-161435.jpg

Thanks to CrossFit Indy North and best of luck to the team at the Games!! I’ll be rooting for my fellow Hoosiers!

2 thoughts on “Working Out with Indy CrossFit North

  1. Oh I missed yesterday’s post, I’m so happy to hear that the surgery went well. It’s always so scary when a loved one has surgery. I’m glad you were able to get in a crossfit workout! I think it would be fun to try another box and see how they do things differently, not that I plan on leaving Taylor for and wod’s in the lexington area!

  2. Pingback: A Workout with CrossFit Clay United | Planetmarsz

Leave a Reply

