Actions Speak Louder


New Year’s Eve is typically when we all state our resolutions, or goals, for the year to come. We all have good intentions at the beginning of the year because the year is so full of promise.

Unfortunately, the majority of those resolutions never come to fruition. By February most have given up their motivation to keep on the track of whatever their resolution was, maybe because of the lack of true motivation, a goal too high, or maybe they just didn’t want it bad enough.

A lot of us like to put our goals out there because we want to be held accountable. We want someone to kind-of be that little bug in our ear when we reach for that brownie that isn’t on our “clean eating” plan. We welcome a little nudge to hit the gym when we’re maybe just not feeling like breaking a sweat.

Important

But if you have an ultimate goal, where you know you have to really work for it, do you make the effort to achieve it? Or just continue to say, “This is what I want, and I know how I can get there…I just haven’t gotten there, yet…” When does that “yet” become a “now”?

I can understand if you’ve been burned trying to achieve that goal before–it sucks to think you failed. But you’ve only failed if you don’t stand back up, dust yourself off, and try again.

If it’s truly an unattainable goal, perhaps you just need to rethink that goal and figure out the next best thing. That doesn’t mean to completely give up and spend your resting hours on the couch, watching televisions or playing video games. No, it just means reassessing your goals to make them attainable, or reworking the steps to achieve that ultimate dream.

Right now, I don’t really know what my goals and dreams are, in my real life. I have goals for my running, CrossFit, and training my dogs, but I’m currently reassessing my life-goals.

Have I given up? No.

Do I know others who just give up? Yes.

Does it hurt? Yes.

Does it chap my ass? Hell yes!

Why doesn’t it chap theirs? I couldn’t tell you.

goals-and-deadlines1

 

It’s time to stop saying, “I am going to do this….” and actually do it. Make your actions be seen–quit just repeating the words over and over that we’ve heard for the past few years. Make yourself accountable for your own goals and develop a work ethic towards that dream.

Stop saying you know what you need to do to achieve your goals and JUST DO IT! (Shout out to Nike.)

Stop just saying you treasure something and SHOW THAT YOU DO.

Take care of yourself. Don’t frustrate others who are taking care of you and want to see you succeed. Don’t you want to see yourself succeed? Don’t you want to feel that accomplishment? You have to want it for yourself. You have to do it for yourself. If you don’t love yourself enough to do it, how can you love the others around you that want so much for you?

So I’m continuing to work towards my physical goals and being accountable for myself. I just need to take the time to figure out my next goals and my next dreams, and then I will take action towards those goals. But I will take action for myself… Will you?

Leave a Reply

