Recipe: Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies (made with avocado!)


Earlier this week I was in the mood to bake cookies. I get a little tired of baking the same types of cookies, plus I’m always trying to look for ways to make my cookies just a little bit healthier. A while ago M saw a recipe on the back of my Craisins bag for cranberry oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and said they looked good. I agreed! So when I set out to bake on Monday, I decided I was going to make those, only without the white chocolate chips (I couldn’t find any in my last trip to the store).

So I looked at the recipe and decided I wanted to try to make it healthy. I was limited with what we already head in the house, so I divided the original recipe in half and then did my swaps. Here’s what I came up with:

photo (14)

Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies with Avocado

1/3 cup mashed avocado
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 large egg
3/4 cup old fashioned oats
A little less than 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup Reduced Sugar Craisins Dried Cranberries

  1. Preheat oven to 375* F.
  2. Beat the avocado and maple syrup together, add the egg.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine oats, flour, and baking soda. Slowly add the flour mixture to the egg mixture and combine.
  4. Add Craisins.
  5. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto prepared cookie sheet (I used a silicon liner on a cookie sheet). Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until golden brown.

*This makes about 18 cookies

This recipe isn’t a very sweet one, but it works for me. For the last bunch of dough (about 6 cookies’ worth) I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and some slivered almonds to see how that tasted and I loved the extra texture from the almonds! You can also add white chocolate chips, if you’re so inclined.

M loved the cookies, and he was surprised to find out that they had avocado and maple syrup in them. Win!

Try them and let me know what you think!

One thought on “Recipe: Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies (made with avocado!)

Leave a Reply

