A Flooded Fourth & Team ‘Murica CrossFit WOD


I hope everyone had a great 4th of July holiday and celebrated with loved ones our nation’s freedom. Unfortunately for me, and most of those in Lexington, it was more of a flooded Fourth. It’s been raining for a solid 48 hours (at least). Total bummer. Plus, M is in the middle of an 8-day stretch of working, so we couldn’t go anywhere to watch fireworks.

I kicked off the holiday at Man O’War CrossFit, where we had only one class and we were promised it’d be a fun one. I wasn’t able to take a photo of the WOD, but it was a fun partner workout that stoked our competitive streak. Taylor came up with it and the title:

Team ‘Murica
2x Plate push down and back (push 15 lb plate on ground down and back)
2x broad jump burpees (alternating w/partner)
1x Wheelbarrow race (alternate partners)
2x Medicine ball bear crawl
1x Sprint while holding 15 lb plate overhead
1x Over and unders
2x Buddy carry
+ Every time you run down, 10 push-ups (divide amongst partners) on one end, 10 air squats (divide amongst partners) on other end

It was a lot of fun. I was partnered up with an older gal named Sheila, and we weren’t the fastest, but we busted our butts! The plate push was a lot harder than I thought it’d be. Sheila couldn’t carry me, but I carried her down one side and we’d sprint back to the beginning, so we made it work.

After the WOD, majority of the gang headed home, but I wanted to work on a couple of things. My shoulder’s been bothering me a little, so I couldn’t work on pull-ups or push presses like I planned, so after doing an ab circuit, I decided to work on my box jumps. The 20″ box jump has been super intimidating to me. I couldn’t tell you why, but it just seems so tall! (And I will be the first to tell you I don’t have a high vertical.) So I’ve been working on building up to it, using a 12″ box with a 25 lb (about 12″) plate on top at first, then I added a 45 lb (about 4″) plate. After doing 10 jumps on each, I decided to try the 20″ box. There were a few times that I would psyche myself up for the jump and then walk away. I had to push out the fears of cracking my shins on the hardwood box and just do it.

And…guess what…I did it! In fact, I got in ten 20″ box jumps! I was pumped and proud of myself. Now if I can just go on with doing it easier, without the hesitations, so I can use the 20″ box jumps when they’re prescribed in the workouts. That’ll come with time, I’m sure, but I’m happy that I’ve accomplished one goal that I’ve had in CrossFit.

The rest of the day was spent indoors, trying to keep the (stir-crazy) dogs quiet while it’s pouring outside. M and I went out to dinner since it wasn’t worthwhile trying to grill out, and celebrated with some S’more Blizzards from Dairy Queen.

As I write this, I’m drying out from getting soaked one what was meant to be a 5 mile run, but turned into a 2 mile speed drill when the skies opened up on me in my neighborhood. Who knows when this rain will stop! But we’ve definitely seen lots of flooding in Central Kentucky.

How was your Fourth?

Leave a Reply

