Yummy Fresh Summer Dinner


Friday night M and I joined some friends at Whole Foods for their 5 on Friday event to try five different beers with be different recipes. They were all very good, but we were still hungry by the time we got home. We had some chicken sausage that needed to be cooked, so I found a recipe that sounded perfect for the evening:

20130626-101150.jpg

I found the recipe using my AllRecipes.com Spinner app on my phone, but I changed it up some to suit what we had in the kitchen.

Stuffed Zucchini with Chicken Sausage

2 Zucchini
3 tablespoons of olive oil
3 links chicken sausage with cheese, casings removed
2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
Salt and ground black pepper to taste
1 can diced Italian-style tomatoes (most of the fluid drained)
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon basil (I used dry, but you can use fresh if you have it)
1-2 tablespoons bread crumbs (to help soak up the mixture)
1 clove minced garlic
Chopped onion (I had minced dried onion that I did a couple of shakes)

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
  2. Cut the zucchini length-wise (cut off the ends as well). With a spoon, scoop out the flesh, leaving a shell intact all around the zucchini–you decide the thickness of the flesh. (I love zucchini, so I didn’t make it too thin, though remember this will mean an adjustment to cooking time.)
  3. Heat the olive oil in a skillet, then cook up the chicken sausage, breaking up the meat while it cooks. After about 8 minutes or so, sprinkle the crushed red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, and basil. I saved some of the zucchini flesh and decided to chop that up and throw it in the chicken sausage mixture as well.
  4. Pour the can of diced Italian-style tomatoes (partially drained) into the mixture and add the onion and garlic at this time. Stir the mixture until cooked through and then turn off the burner.
  5. In a bowl, scrape the sausage mixture into a bowl with the bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese until everything is thoroughly mixed.
  6. Lightly stuff the zucchini boats with the mixture. I had the boats already placed on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. Bake in the oven until thoroughly heated and the mixture is brown on top–about 30 minutes.

I loved this dinner–so light and so easy to make. Since I left the zucchini a little thicker, I think next time I should maybe bake the zucchini by itself a little first, or bake the entire thing more. Or maybe even grill the zucchini first! Hmm…I’m going to play around with it and will let you know.

Try it and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Yummy Fresh Summer Dinner

  1. Awesome! I just saw another recipe for stuffed zucchini. I have a couple in the fridge that are waiting to be used. I’ll have to experiment with them.

Leave a Reply

