In a Rough Patch


It’s Wednesday…how did it get to be Hump Day already? Well, I can tell you, it’s been one helluva week for me, and I’m hoping things will start to look up at some point.

I spent the weekend in Indiana visiting my family and helping my dad run a dog agility trial. It was a long, grueling weekend of keeping things going, as well as running Dally and LaMesa. Luckily Dally came through and was a rockstar like always, which made things a little easier. LaMesa, on the other hand, was her usual self where we had our usual struggles. Oh well, you can’t win them all!

Life has taken a big turn for me recently. I’m taking a big step and gone out on my own for right now–no more stable salary, no more stable schedule, etc. I’m looking for something new currently, but I don’t really know what direction I want to go in: Do I want to stay in the equine industry? Do I want to stay in the media sector? I don’t know. Do I dare consider going back to school for something else? I have no clue. I have a lot of questions and not one single answer at the moment…and I hate it.

Another part of my rough patch was when I had a doctor’s appointment Tuesday morning. I won’t go into detail, but they took a biopsy of something that looks like it could be pre-cancerous or cancerous. I’m hoping to get the (positive) results in the next few days.

And, finally, Tuesday afternoon I had to make the difficult phone call to the veterinarian. Mara, my 16-year-old cat, has not been doing well lately. Back in March we had one pint of fluid removed from her lungs. In May we repeated the process. But since then, she hasn’t gotten any better. She was tired–barely able to walk very far in the house before she had to lay down to catch her breath. But yesterday it was different–she wouldn’t eat her canned food, and this time she had to pant through her mouth in order to breath. When M woke up, I told him I had to call the vet. When 5 o’clock rolled around, we loaded up the car and headed to the vet. Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, she died on her own while we waited for the vet to come in.

Ā 

20130612-110025.jpg

Mara was born before I went into high school. She “helped raise me” (as my mom says) through high school and college, and moved from Indiana to Texas, to Oklahoma, and now Kentucky with me and Dally.

M was just as affected by Mara’s death as I was. I’m lucky that I have him to comfort me. He’s taking recent events pretty hard, but he’s still been my rock, and for that I’m so thankful. I hope everyone is lucky to have a support system like I do.

So how have you been??

9 thoughts on “In a Rough Patch

  1. Wow I’m so sorry hun! I really hope your results come back with good news! And I’m glad you are making a change to do something that makes you happy, even though it seems challenging at the moment. So sorry to hear about your sweet kitty. She’s better off now and no longer suffering though. Stay strong girl, you’re going to do amazing things!

  2. Oh my goodness, hun. I was literally in tears over here. When it rains, it pours, right? I’m so sorry that you’re going through all of this now. Nothing will ever replace your precious kitty, but this will be a great time for you to do some soul searching so you can keep following your dreams and do something that makes you happy every day. I hope for good things for you. I also hope that you get some good news from your results. It’s hard now, but it’ll slowly get better. I’m sure of that. XOXOXO

  3. Rough patch is putting it mildly. šŸ˜¦ I do know you are a tough young lady…I will be praying for good results on the biopsy; and hugs with the loss of your sweet kitty, who truly was family. There is something absolutely wonderful out there–just waiting for you !! Stay tough, young lady. Lots of love and prayers.

  4. You will survive & you will thrive. Keep your head up!
    We can give you our old cranky kitty if you want šŸ˜‰

  5. Megan, I’m so sorry I didn’t know all of this was going on. I knew about one of the things but man it sounds like you are having a really rough time. I’m so sorry to hear about Mara, that must have been so hard. Your strong for trying to stay positive through all of this and still cross fitting like a champ!

Leave a Reply

