In an Odd Place


I’ve been pretty sporadic with my blog posts lately. LIfe has been pretty sporadic, quite frankly. I just feel like I’m in an odd place right now.

QuestionThings are going well with my relationship with M–we’re starting to get a routine with his odd (midnight-8 am) schedule and have figured out how to make it work. I’ll admit, it was a little rough for a while there, but now I think we’ve got it handled. And we’re much happier for it.

I’ve been released by the sports medicine doctor to start (slowly) get back to running and to be careful adding mileage and speed. Yet, as I’ve gotten back to pounding the pavement, it hasn’t been an easy restart. My knee still bothers me at times, and when it does I back down on the speed or the mileage or just back off from running period. I ran Sunday morning for four miles and was ouchy after, even with the stretching and such that I’m supposed to do. I’m going back to physical therapy next week for ultrasound therapy to help break down some of the swelling that’s still around my knee.

I’m doing my best to just take it easy, but I want to get back to running so bad. I want to feel that sense of accomplishment I felt every weekend when I tackled my long runs and the camaraderie of the running group I joined this winter. I miss running.

In other fitness news, I’ve become immersed in CrossFit. I’ve been going to Man O’War CrossFit for a month or so now. I try to go at least 2-3 times a week. I’m good about babying my knee–if I see that a workout could be a potential pain for my knee, I tell Taylor and we come up with alternative workouts for me. I’m feeling stronger already–Monday morning before spinning I did some push-ups and crunches, and I was able to do five sets of 10 push-ups on my toes! W00t! Granted I couldn’t go all the way down, but it’s still an improvement, and I’ll take it.

So everything is going great, right? I’m living a healthy life again? Umm no. 

The eating has been way off track. I don’t really know why. Well…maybe I do. I’ve been under a lot of stress at work. My sweet tooth has been in overdrive. It’s been hard to squelch it. I’ve read about how certain things can trigger sugar cravings, but I haven’t been able to figure out how to wean myself off the sugar and off the need for sweets. 

M and I have challenged each other to a month of cleaner eating. I’m hoping it’ll inspire him to think a little more about what and how he’s eating, and then hopefully it’ll inspire him to start taking his health a little more seriously. He purchased a Groupon to try Man O’War CrossFit with me almost a month ago, but he still has yet to use it. So I’m hoping a month of health-conscious living will help not only him, but myself as well. 

And then there’s the professional life. Well…let’s just say it’s not the best right now. The freelancing has picked up, which is nice, and I’m enjoying it. But in other terms, I’m learning that having a strong personality and strong opinions some times needs to be harnessed when it comes the professional setting. I need to learn a little more self-control when it comes to my emotions and to think not once, but twice, about responses. It just doesn’t feel like a comfortable, happy place any more. It feels like an odd place for me to be in.

So this turned out to be an odd post, but maybe that’s the best fitting since I titled it “In an odd place.” If you have any advice on any of the above–cleaning up our eating, breaking the sugar cycle, runner’s knee, work environments, etc.–I’d appreciate you sharing.

Leave a Reply

