Dead Lifts & Zola


Is it the weekend yet?? Sheesh! Why do the weeks leading up to long weekend always seem to drag on forever?

Anyway, I celebrate “Hump Day” in my usual fashion, with a trip to Man O’War CrossFit.

WOD5-22

After a warm-up, we worked on our strength for front squats. Every Minute On The Minute, we did five front squats for 10 minutes. I squatted 55 lbs–not bad, but I can’t wait to get the go-ahead from my doctor to really start lifting and pushing myself.

Then the WOD:

10 Minute AMRAP
5 Dead LIfts
8 Box Jumps

I did 95 lbs on the dead lifts and jumped just under 20″ on the box. (I had to use the smaller box with a plate on top due to running out of regular 20/24″ boxes.) I probably should have lifted more like around 110, but I wasn’t sure how I’d get through. Taylor wanted us to aim for 8 rounds–I did 10, plus 4 dead lifts. I need to not worry about things and push myself out of my comfort zone. It’s not that I wasn’t working hard–I was breathing hard, sweating lots, and I’m already sore–but I just feel like I should push harder. I know my time will come when I’m doing prescribed weights, so I just need to be patient.

The workout was a tough one, but nothing was harder than those darn box jumps! Note to self: Do not think while doing them. About half-way through the AMRAP, I started telling myself I needed to remember to step down with my left foot, not just my right all the time. Then I got to thinking, “How many rounds have I done?” Well, all these thoughts rolling around in my head and trying to jump a box with weight plates on isn’t a good combo. I ended up hopping awkwardly, thus stubbing my toe on the plate and slamming my right shin into the box. Just some bruising (a little blood) and a lump, but how embarrassing!!

After the workout, I rushed to Marikka’s to help out a friend who needed another girl on his sand volleyball team. We split the first two games, then during the third the heavens opened up and poured on us–not fun. We ended up losing (really not fun), and I was exhausted!

But I came home to a fun package from Zola! Inside was a couple of cans of coconut water (with and without pulp) and a bottle of their acai juice. I can’t wait to try them! (The acai is in the fridge already.)

w00t!! Coconut water and acai juice! Whatever shall I make with it??

w00t!! Coconut water and acai juice! Whatever shall I make with it??

And, of course, LaMesa had to try out the fun shades:

LaMesa rocking the neon green Zola shades.

LaMesa rocking the neon green Zola shades.

I’d love to make something with the coconut water. Do you have any recipes for coconut water?

I have my follow-up appointment with my sports medicine doctor today. Yay! Hopefully I’ll have good news to share tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

