Scenes from my iPhone: Kentucky Derby


Sorry for the lack of posts lately–it’s been a crazy busy week. And even though the Kentucky Derby was five days ago, I wanted to share some of the photos I took with my iPhone of that long, rainy, but always amazing day.

(BTW, Orb was the winner, and I bet on him–yay! I ended up leaving Churchill Downs earning money after betting, instead of losing it all like I normally do!)

Churchill Downs grandstand from the backside

Churchill Downs grandstand from the backside

Churchill Downs grandstand from the final turn of the track on a gloomy day.

Churchill Downs grandstand from the final turn of the track on a gloomy day.

THe field breaks from the gate for the Woodford Reserve Turf Classic, the race before the Kentucky Derby

THe field breaks from the gate for the Woodford Reserve Turf Classic, the race before the Kentucky Derby

The 139th Kentucky Derby, Presented by Yum! Brands (mouthful, huh?)

The 139th Kentucky Derby, Presented by Yum! Brands (mouthful, huh?)

Just some of the cameras used on the starting gate for the Derby. We have one there.

Just some of the cameras used on the starting gate for the Derby. We have one there.

 

Chad Harmon, one of our magazine's photographers. He was keeping the camera dry in the rain (I joke and say no one taught him not to play in plastic bags).

Chad Harmon, one of our magazine’s photographers. He was keeping the camera dry in the rain (I joke and say no one taught him not to play in plastic bags).

Through these gates will pass a champion. (The starting gate)

Through these gates will pass a champion. (The starting gate)

I rocked the green "Gumby suit" with my navy blue polka dot wellies for my Derby attire.

I rocked the green “Gumby suit” with my navy blue polka dot wellies for my Derby attire.

Eventual Kentucky Derby winner Orb warms up before the race.

Eventual Kentucky Derby winner Orb warms up before the race.

 

Leave a Reply

