Exhausting Week


TGIF! It’s been one long, exhausting week for me! Volleyball started back up, which meant back to late nights, plus just long days at work. The Kentucky Derby is next week, so the office is buzzing with news, etc., which means we’re constantly working. Love this time of year!

I wasn’t able to go to CrossFit until Wednesday (no more Monday night classes for me now–job #2 takes priority). By the time 5 pm came around on Wednesday, I was chomping at the bit, excited to get to class!

Warm-up was a 3 minute AMRAP of medicine ball curls (10 at a time) and 5 pushups. I was really concentrating on my form–it felt awkward with the medicine ball. I think I did three rounds.

Then there was the WOD:

WOD

Our 6 pm class was pretty big (12 people), so we made it a partner workout. We did 3 rounds of 5 dead lifts, 10 pull-ups (with the band or jump-ups), and 15 kettle bell swings. While one partner did the workout, the other rested. Repeat this three times.

For our dead lifts, Heather and I did 45 pounds, used a 17.6 lb KB, and did the jump-ups. Everything felt fine (I think I could have used some more weight on the dead lifts and kettle bell, but that’s OK, since I’m just starting out), but I don’t know if I was doing the jump-ups correctly. You see, if you have just started and aren’t on the bands yet for pull-ups, you start by jumping to pull yourself up over the bar. You should still be pulling up with your arms, but using a little momentum from your legs. I didn’t feel like I was using my arms as much as I should, so I kept talking to Coach Taylor and others about my form. Taylor said I looked fine, so who knows?

WOD2

It definitely was a sweat session!

During one of my rest periods, I got a text from a friend asking me to fill-in on his volleyball team just one hour after I finished with CrossFit. I have a hard time saying no to friends, so I agreed. After 24 burpees and a short stretch session, I rushed home to take the girls to the park for some tennis ball action, then back again to head to Marikka’s, leaving M on his own for dinner.

These muffins rock as a great mid-morning snack!

These muffins rock as a great mid-morning snack!

How good of a friend am I? Try playing sand volleyball, barefoot, in 45* weather after a full hour of butt-kicking CrossFit. Yep. My feet were so cold–they started cramping as I drove home as they thawed out! I was plumb exhausted when I got back, but had enough energy to make these awesome banana oatmeal breakfast muffins I found on Pinterest for our breakfasts the next couple of days. The muffins were a hit with me, M, and some of M’s co-workers. (I added some chopped almonds instead of walnuts, but didn’t have any flax seed. Plus a few got some chocolate chips because I knew M would like that.)

Around 11 I crashed for the night, absolutely exhausted. Thursday morning I had my third physical therapy appointment, which I’ll fill you in on later.

Right now, I’m looking forward to the weekend–M actually has Saturday AND Sunday off, so hopefully we’ll get to do some things together and hang out! (Boo on the predicted storms all weekend, though!)

What’s on tap for your weekend?

One thought on “Exhausting Week

  1. Cross fit seriously sounds like so much fun! And yes you are an awesome friend! I would have been exhausted after all of that. Don’t you love finding recipes on Pinterest! One of my friends is in town and were planning to go to Rolex, hopefully it’s not too rainy.

Leave a Reply

