Crockpot Enchilada Casserole Love


Sunday night I did a little bit of weekly food preparation of my own, but mostly for Monday night’s dinner. I was inspired by Lindsay’s Crockpot Enchilada Casserole and decided this would be a great vegetarian meal for M and I to have.

I’ve done the Stacked Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas, but this seemed so much easier (probably because I didn’t have to wait for the roasting time). This was basically chopped up the veggies, throw them (in layers) in the Crockpot and go.

The casserole is so colorful in the CrockPot!

The casserole is so colorful in the CrockPot!

Here are the substitutions I made:

Black Beans –> Lentils
Enchilada sauce –> Chunky Salsa
Cayenne Pepper, Paprika, Cumin –> Cumin, Black Pepper, Diced Onion

I chopped up a red bell pepper and sweet potato and combined that with frozen corn and fresh spinach. So my layers were: whole wheat tortilla strips, spinach, veggies, spices, salsa, cheese, repeat two more times (except leave off the cheese until closer to the end).

I served mine with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt.

I served mine with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt.

This was delicious, and like I said, so easy!

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Enchilada Casserole Love

  1. I love reading about the new recipes you’re trying, Megan! This slow-cooker recipe sounds good–especially because we don’t finish working until sundown, and by the end of the day, we’re tired and crabby and don’t really want to cook.

    • Haha I love trying new recipes! It’s funny because I used to be so “safe” with food, but now I want to try new stuff all the time. This recipe was great, and so easy! Though M forgot to turn on the CrockPot when he should have, so I had it on high for 2 hours, then low for a little while afterwards when I got home from work at 5–it was ready to eat when we were around 8 or so, which was perfect!

Leave a Reply

