A Productive Weekend


My weekend started off with a little anxiety on my part–I had absolutely no plans and nothing to really do, and I wasn’t sure what to do with myself!! You see, completely free weekends are very rare for me. I’m usually on the go. But with race training on hiatus for right now (thanks, runner’s knee), and cutting back on agility trials, I don’t have much to keep myself busy.

Luckily I came up with enough stuff to keep myself busy.

Part of Saturday was spent with my friend Merinda and the dogs at a herding workshop, where the Stump Kids and I watch Merinda work Porter on sheep and we watched some of the instinct tests. LaMesa will have her testing next month, and I can’t wait! The rest of the day was filled with grocery shopping (I bought an avocado for the first time! Now what to do with it??), and lots of cleaning the house.

I scrubbed the floors and washed bedding. Then I got a creative bite in the butt and started hanging up some things we were given for wedding presents, as well as Christmas presents. This included rearranging some things on the walls in M’s office and our spare bedroom. Here’s the finished product:

I got this awesome PACH bar holder for Christmas from my sister, so I could display Dally's bar and ribbon from her championship. It's now hanging in our spare bedroom over the two dog crates. Perfect!

I got this awesome PACH bar holder for Christmas from my sister, so I could display Dally’s bar and ribbon from her championship. It’s now hanging in our spare bedroom over the two dog crates. Perfect!

I let M reclaim the wall that had a lot of my certificates hanging on it. Now he has his Colts mirror hanging with his Air Force basic training photo and a few other mementos from both of us.

I let M reclaim the wall that had a lot of my certificates hanging on it. Now he has his Colts mirror hanging with his Air Force basic training photo and a few other mementos from both of us.

Sunday included some errand-running, followed by mowing the lawn (first time using a push mower, thank you very much!), cleaning the back porch, planting flowers, and washing the car.

I love having pretty flowers in front of our house! I think it adds character.

I love having pretty flowers in front of our house! I think it adds character.

Our back porch isn't much, but we try to enjoy time outside. The fire pit was purchased for the wedding, and now we can use it for s'mores and hanging out!

Our back porch isn’t much, but we try to enjoy time outside. The fire pit was purchased for the wedding, and now we can use it for s’mores and hanging out!

Now’s time to actually relax a little and get some writing done. Dally’s being featured on The Daily Corgi this week, so I have to choose the right photos and write-up her bio! 🙂

Hope your weekend was productive, or relaxing, or whatever you wanted it to be!

What should I do with my avocado that I bought yesterday?

3 thoughts on “A Productive Weekend

  1. It looks like you were very productive! Last weekend when my parents were in town for two days we did a LOT of weed pulling, now I need to plant some pretty flowers. I love smashed avocado on toast, avocado in eggs, avocado with shredded chicken!

Leave a Reply

