Coming to Terms with the Lack of Running


**First off, I’d like to wish my hard-working hubby a very happy birthday today!! Poor guy is  working 12+ hours today on five hours (or less) of sleep. It’s hard getting old! 😉 **

Spring finally decided to grace Kentucky this week = YAY! But my running has been put on hold = BOO!

Since my meeting with the sports medicine doctor, I have begrudgingly paused my running training. I also decided I wasn’t going to push things by running in the Kentucky Derby Half Marathon later this week–it’s not worth spending $85 on a race that I may or may not do well in, nor risk doing more damage to my tendon. It stinks…no, it sucks. It sucks because I have friends running in it and I wanted to run with them. It sucks because it was my first half marathon last year, and you always want to run in your first race all the time. It sucks because the weather is so beautiful outside and you see so many people out running on the same routes I run on, and you just want to feel that wind in your face and lose your breath.

I know it’s not forever (Lord I hope not). But I guess I just need a good whine every now and then. For now, I’ll enjoy the dark scenery of the spinning studio, focus on strengthening my legs in the gym, and stretching out all the kinks with yoga. My first physical therapy appointment is Thursday, so I’ll have more information and updates after that.

One of the trees in the backyard is finally blooming, which is a sure sign of Spring in Kentucky. (And torture to M's poor allergies.)

One of the trees in the backyard is finally blooming, which is a sure sign of Spring in Kentucky. (And torture to M’s poor allergies.)

So Tuesday evening, after walking the dogs (at least I can still walk them!), I enjoyed the outdoors in another way, by eating a light dinner on the patio with the dogs and the cats laying around in the thickening patches of grass.

Yogurt bowl: Oikos toasted cocnut Greek yogurt with chopped apples and homemade granola.

Yogurt bowl: Oikos toasted cocnut Greek yogurt with chopped apples and homemade granola. (Sorry for the blurry image.)

I have to thank Nicole for the inspiration for what is probably my new favorite light meal. I chopped up an apple and mixed it in a bowl with Oikos toasted coconut Greek yogurt and some homemade granola (peanut butter and honey mixed over oats and almonds with some shredded coconut and dried berries). It’s light for those warm days (like Tuesday–80*!), but quite filling.

The girls love it when I sit outside with them, but they would rather me throw the tennis ball than work on the computer.

The girls love it when I sit outside with them, but they would rather me throw the tennis ball than work on the computer.

The pups enjoyed relaxing on the porch while I did a little work (so thankful for wifi). It was quite relaxing, that is, until M’s cat Sean decided to jump over the privacy fence into the neighbor’s yard, then under another fence to another neighbor’s yard (mind you, he is declawed in the front). I ran over to the neighbors behind us and retrieved him from their yard. It’s funny because my cat, who has front claws, doesn’t try to escape the backyard when she goes outside. Oh well…just gotta keep an eye on the troublemaker.

So how do you celebrate the warmer weather outside of running?

5 thoughts on “Coming to Terms with the Lack of Running

  1. Sorry you’re dealing with an injury! I’ve been there, and it’s no fun. 😦 If I couldn’t run, I’d take advantage of the weather by cycling, maybe, or just going for a walk. Maybe take up roller blading!

    • I’ve been doing lots of walking with the dogs (which I always do, anyway). I’ve always wondered about roller blading, but I have too many memories of me falling to me knees or butt when I was trying to roller skate and ice skate in grade school, so I haven’t tried anything else like that lately–I could be injured even more! LOL

  2. i sit outside. as much as i can. try to walk a bit. take the dog out toa dog park. im in same boat. no running for me… and im on week 4 of no running and will prolly have one more week of it. it SUCKS!!! truly! but i swim. i plan to start biking next week and then running the following week if i can! gluck to you! ill be rooting for ya! (spa love)

    • Thanks! Best of luck to you on your recovery as well! The hubs and I are on the search for a nice outdoor dining set, but we can’t afford much, so eating outside is very limited right now. But I can balance a bowl of yogurt while sitting in a travel chair just fine! 😉

  3. I’m so sorry to hear that your not going to be able to run for awhile 😦 It is so frustrating to be sidelined, especially right when the weather is turning into spring. I’m sure the pups will still enjoy walking with you and at least your able to enjoy being outside that way, and of course I love the idea of enjoying yogurt bowls outside on the deck 🙂

Leave a Reply

