Tapering Week Randomness


This week has just felt so unorganized, random, and unsettling for me. I hate taper weeks! You work so hard, trying to increase your mileage and your speed, push yourself to the limits, and train hard for months for your half marathon/marathon, then you’re expected to take a week off to allow your muscles to relax, restore, and be ready for the big race. But yet your mind is still reeling and thinking.

Less than 48 hours until I conquer this race!

Less than 48 hours until I conquer this race!

I ran 8 miles on Saturday and then 3.5 Monday after work. Since then, I haven’t done much. I did a Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown DVD Tuesday morning, then did some heavy lifting after work (mostly my upper body, but I threw some squats in there). Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings have been long walks in the park with the dogs to stretch their and my legs. I’ve been itching to run, but worried that I want to have my legs for the massive hills I’ll be running on Saturday. Plus, I’ve been wanting to rest my knee. This am I did another yoga DVD to stretch my body and hopefully ease my mind.

But then I see tweets from people running in the same half marathon I am doing that are still running 3-5 miles this am, just two days before the race. I think to myself “Am I going to be prepared for this? Is resting up the way to go, or should I have pushed for a few miles last night?” You seriously can drive yourself mad doubting your actions during a taper week!

After work last night I was about to set out to the gym for some time on the elliptical and more upper body weights when suddenly I just wasn’t feeling it. It’s weird for me to just not feel like going to the gym at all, especially in the middle of the week, but I figured it was a sign and listened to my body. I drove straight home and M and I took the dogs out for a 2.25 mile walk instead. Then I cleaned the house to keep myself busy and my body moving.

I have a packed evening schedule today, but I’m suddenly wanting to get in at least 15 minutes on the elliptical to stretch the legs and get the blood flowing. I just gotta try to not push myself too much.

And now for the randomness…

There have been a few blog posts that have really stuck with me this week that I want to share.

Matters of Course (RunningHutch) – Tiffany put together a great blog about runners who CrossFit (or CrossFitters who run). It was fun to read the different views of people who “do it all” in fitness because I’d like to still try my hand at CrossFit, but I was worried it’d affect my running training.

Piloting Paper Airplanes – This post was something I needed after having some confidence issues this week. What Makes Me Powerful made me really think about what makes me feel powerful in my life. You know everyone has their lackluster moments, but it’s always good to read that there are others who have those moments (even the people who appear to have it all together) and how they handle those moments. I hope to do a post like this soon.

The Lean Green Bean – Finally, Lindsay has perfect timing when it comes to some of the things she puts together on her blog. She posted a follow up blog post on Things Blogging Has Taught Me today, and I really needed that. I’ve been inspired with my recent Sweat Pink Ambassadorship to do more with my blog, but I don’t really know how to get the ball rolling. There is a big world of potential when it comes to blogging and you have to really dig deep and be persistent to grow your own brand. I get inspiration from bloggers like Lindsay, Anne, Clare, and Tina, and I want to do more awesome things like them everyday.

Time to get my mind straight and focus. I’m hoping the rest of the week flies by.

2 thoughts on “Tapering Week Randomness

  1. You’re going to ROCK your race this weekend! I know my body does a lot better with solid rest. I work it into my running/training schedules to take a full week off every 5–6 weeks (which means I have to push my training plans longer, but it works). That full week break is mental just as much as physical and I feel so good when it’s over. In my non–professional opinion, you’re doing great taking extra rest this week. 🙂

    Thanks for the shout out! It was kind of a silly post, but so true. I can be fairly pessimistic, so I want to focus on those good things that lift me up. Look forward to your post!

    SPA ❤

Leave a Reply

